Thank You For Your Childhood

Standard

What a chilling phrase if you really give it some thought. When we reach a certain age, society expects us to automatically become an adult. People expect much more from us than they ever had before. So much truth in 5 little words. It’s as if a particular day is the bridge we cross that supposedly changes the way we act and provides a more responsible way to think.

We were out driving with my daughter today. My husband told her to turn left through an intersection but never saw the car coming. She just automatically followed directions. Thankfully he yelled stop forcefully enough so that she was ably to apply the break and prevent a collision. We realized that just because she is of age to hold a permit, she will not always be experienced enough to make the right decision.

I think adulthood is just like that. We start to be treated like one but really nothing has changed but a single day that fast forwards us to a new age. We don’t change, time just decides how old we are. I think we forget that experience is on going. It is life experience that tests us and teaches us how to respond. It doesn’t happen over night and it doesn’t magically occur when we turn 18.

What a sad concept to even insinuate that growing older means giving up our childhood. The older we get, I believe we realize how much better off we were when we were more like a child, when we believed in things with child like faith and loved wholeheartedly with our childish heart. And don’t even get me started on how easily the young heart forgives and moves on.

The Giver was really thought provoking and this line really stuck with me long after I stepped out of the theatre. I thought is was worth sharing with all of you. I’d love to hear your thoughts. How do you feel when you hear the words “thank you for your childhood”? How does it make you feel?

6 thoughts on “Thank You For Your Childhood

  1. One thing that I stressed over and over to Mr. T was that things did not magically change when you turn 16 and have your license. I thought that they did when I was younger, but they really don’t. And as we were going through the journey of him learning how to drive, I told him that he didn’t have the experience I had, so there were times all I was doing was to help him judge distances and perspective – and letting him know whether or not he had time to cross! πŸ™‚

    I’m glad that you guys weren’t in a wreck!

    Like

    • Me too and I agree. We think we know it all when we are in our late teens. We dive into the responsibilities head first. We learn over time to be a little more timid and not take on too much before we are ready. We wake up one day and are so bogged down with responsibility we start to suffocate. That is the moment we learn πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yesterday I was watching a documentary on Islam and how girls on the day of their 9th birthday are transitioned from childhood to adulthood. I don’t wish to speak further on that topic necessarily, but I feel that childhood is determined by a person’s mental state. A person can have a child-like mind for as long as they desire to.

    Some of the most fascinating adults I’ve ever met are those who are not afraid from time time to enjoy life in a child-like way. Life as a child is much more pure (or should be) than life as an adult. It’s certainly much more freeing. We all want to grow up so fast and then when we do, we wish they we were children again. I say there’s nothing wrong with being a child (at the right place and time) at 40, 50 or even 80 years old.

    Like

  3. There are not enough people in the world who have child-like love, looking up with absolute trust, not asking questions and wondering if you exist. Just Knowing you love them and want what’s best for them. Trust. Child-like faith is pure, innocent, and complete. Believing. Oh, that my heart could be successful in being child -like in love and and faith. There is a blessed peace that comes when I am.

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

