M is for Moms

Standard

i have a plaque on my wall. My mother bought it for me during one of her visits. It says, Mom, the glue that holds it all together. Often times I wonder if maybe that’s why I become unglued so easily. I exhaust my strength and supply trying to hold the weight of the world and sometimes I forget to take care of myself. My mind is always someplace else like with my daughter while she takes her algebra exam or my husband while he sits down to dinner for an important business meeting. I know everyone’s schedule by heart, I know every grade, every doctor appointment, every dentist appointment. I know when everyone is happy and when something has happened to make someone sad. I know it all, the good, bad and ugly and I never seem to be able to disconnect. I am like the heart of the family, keeping it flowing and surviving and functioning so that everyone can live easier. Moms put in so much time. Their job ever ends and often goes very late into the night. Our thoughts even linger into our dreams especially when we are worried about something going on with our child. We often go unappreciated and thank you’s are sometimes few and far between. Still, we sacrifice and love unconditionally with each and every breath we take. We are moms. The pay is lousy but the payoff is worth more than any amount of gold. That’s just what moms do, hold everyone and everything together even when we are falling apart. We really are like glue, don’t you think?

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

7 thoughts on “M is for Moms

  1. Beautifully said. I never really thought about it before, but I do often feel “glue-y”. I know that’s not a word. But it should be.

    Just remember to take a little time for yourself, too. To rest and recharge. You deserve it!

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

