V For Victory

Standard

‎”Victory isn’t defined by wins or losses. It is defined by effort. If you can truthfully say, ‘I did the best I could, I gave everything I had,’ then you’re a winner.

Wolfgang Schadler

This quote is really near and dear to my heart. Raising kids is quite a struggle. There is such a tremendous emphasis on being the best, top of the class, winning team. I realized a long time ago that it was important to redefine winning for my own sake as well as my children. There can only be one top dog, one and that’s all. My question is, as adults, why have we not been smart enough to down play the whole winning thing? Competition has the momentum to make us better but if we are not the very best, are the rest of us just losers? What are the odds we will be a loser if there is only one winner? We are setting ourself up for failure right from the start. That is why we need to give new meaning to the word winning so that everyone has a chance to be a winner instead of just one. I have always taught my kids to compete against themselves. It doesn’t matter what or how anyone else is doing. If they give something their best and continue to get better and better at whatever they do, then that alone is victory. We have to stop the madness of trying to one up the person who sits next to us in class. That kind of obsession can really destroy the self esteem. Be who you are, and be the best at that and stop trying to compete with everybody else.

4 thoughts on “V For Victory

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

