Just Don’t Say It

Standard

If you can’t be kind, be quiet. I refer back to this quote often when I have the choice to say something ugly or keep it to myself. One thing I learned recently is that too many ugly words from too many people can be a precursor to depression somewhere down the line. Words hurt. They scar, especially ones you don’t really mean that you say in jest or out of anger. Someone on the receiving end could be taking those words straight to the heart until slowly over time they finally crack that heart in two. 

Why I am bringing this up now? It’s simple really. I had a few people over this past weekend to watch the fight. I take great pride in keeping my house pristine but I have one small sink in my kitchen island that serves as a junk drawer. Everything I need to find but have no place for gets thrown into that sink. One particular person took notice and let me know it in her play of words that my sink is pretty disgusting. I have a beautiful home. I am very proud of it and the fact that I do my best to stay on top of it and keep it looking nice. I can’t help bet wonder, of all the compliments she could have given, why choose to insult someone? Seriously, almost nine times out of ten, the insult is the drug of choice. So, back to why I’m writing this blog post, say something nice. Choose words that build someone up and not ones that tear them down. Think of the person on the other end and remember they have feelings. They want to hear they’re awesome rather than be reminded of even a single flaw. Your words have great power. The question is, what will you do with that power?

4 thoughts on “Just Don’t Say It

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

