A Painted Lesson

Standard

Last night I tried something that I have never done before, a painting class. If there is one thing I can say I’m not with absolute certainty, it would be artistic. Looking back I never remember being good at any type of crafts. In fact, as a child, my least favorite class would have to be art. But, I realize that it’s important to push myself to do things I am not good at and things I purposely avoid. Those are the very things that make us grow the most and teach us the most about ourselves that we desperately need to face and know. The painting was a tulip scene. The first step was painting a sun. I laughed hysterically after class because if I did this activity at age 5 or 6, my sun would probably look exactly the same. Next, we were told to draw stems. To be honest, this was the hardest step of the whole project. I could not, no matter how much I tried, paint a fine straight line. I could feel the uncomfortable insecurity start to creep in. It settled in my shoulders and I could feel myself sinking lower and lower in my chair. I actually contemplated stopping right then and there and not picking up another brush. Something crazy happened right about that same time that made me chuckle to myself. Good Lord, if I was going to let something as silly as painting a fine line stress me out, how would I make it through a seriously stressful event. I decided I didn’t care what my painting looked like. I was going to relax and have fun creating whatever the final product would be on the terrifying white canvas. The more I relaxed, the better I painted. And…I even started to enjoy myself. I love discovering new things about myself and conquering constraining insecurities. I love to grow so much that I feel a little bit taller with each tiny bit of growth. Sometimes, it’s okay not to be perfect. It’s okay to be terrible at something and do it anyway. It’s okay to laugh at myself and do something that makes me feel uncomfortable. It’s okay to display a painting that is less than amazing. It’s even okay to feel proud that I finished a painting at all. What do you think? What is the last thing you did that really made you feel insecure and uncomfortable?

19 thoughts on “A Painted Lesson

  1. Kimberly! Excellent piece of writing re content & message! And the painting!!!!!!!!! You should hang it in a prominent place in your home!!! A friend of mine many years ago in the 1970’s painted a picture in oils & hung it over their fireplace. You could have fooled me that it was an expensive modern work of art!!! All he did was take a rectangular canvas, quite large, divided the painting into three parts with three separate bold background colors & on each a circle of a contrasting bold color…..thus 6 bold colors, 3 circles on 3 backgrounds. Brilliant idea! He was a dentist! The irony was that his wife took painting lessons & was very serious about her work & was pretty good at it! But my buddy had the nerve!!! I love your points about being bad at something & doing it anyway & to try to do something that makes you feel insecure/uncomfortable. Few people would even think of doing that! Like me! Thanks! And you know, in the world of art, except for that elementary school sun, your painting is pretty good!!! Did you read my latest post about “A Teacher’s Stories, #1” & “The Gong Show”? You will laugh, I promise!!! Phil

    Like

  2. I think your painting is beautiful. Art is neither good nor bad, it just is. That’s the beautiful thing about it. Art means something different to everyone, beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder. This painting is an expression of your insecurity blossoming, of your creative side coming to life. Keep painting, keep creating, it’s good for the soul =)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a good, happy painting because it renders the idea that it wants to express very well. There are many more worse ones in modern arts museums and galleries nowadays believe me. Art is a process of growth and one must remember that every good artist was once an amateur. Occasionally some people are very gifted from the moment that they start to paint but that doesn’t mean that they will become good painters. While others may not look good at the beginning but with time and dedication they will grow into good artists. There are also those like Picasso that at twelve could paint like a master and it took him a lifetime to learn to paint like a child.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

