Help! 

Standard

Daily prompt from the Daily Post: Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?    

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-am-a-rock/

I’ve pondered this question time and time again. The answer is a bit more complicated than I’d like to admit. The truth is it is not easy for me to ask for help. In fact, it is near impossible for me. It takes a situation in which I feel total desperation and truly have no other choice than to ask someone else for something. The tricky part of the question is the part that asks if I prefer to rely on myself. The answer would be no. At times it would awesome to sit back and let someone do something I find uncomfortable or inconvenient but then I open myself up to disappointment and fear that the person I ask isn’t capable or dependable at all. When I do something myself, it gets done right and it gets done period. I don’t have to worry somewhere in the middle of the details. So why don’t I ask? Why do I find it so hard? I really don’t know for sure. I imagine some of it is pride, admitting I need someone’s help and hinting I can’t take care of something myself. The other part is the fact I’ve lived away from family for so long that I had to do things myself. Help is nice and sometimes necessary but the stress it causes me to simply ask far outweighs the benefit of the help. 

How about you? How would you answer the question in the prompt and why?

2 thoughts on “Help! 

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

