Is There Anything We Will Not Try And Change?

Standard

I saw an article about Bruce Jenner today that started me thinking. Everywhere I seem to look people are trying to change who they are. It started with basic things like hair color which led to changing our look all together. Now we have face lifts, tummy tucks. We even go as far to change our name and finally we get to a point that we are even changing our gender. My question is where will we stop? Will we stop? When we are uncomfortable with something, we never learn to accept and deal with it, we simply find a way to change it. If we are in a relationship with someone who has habits we do not like, we expect them to change. Not only do we want to change ourselves, we try and change the people around us. If someone has a different opinion, we try and change their mind. Why oh why can we not accept people, ourselves and the world exactly the way it is? What drives us to fix everything that was never even broken? Are we so selfish to think we need to be insatiably satisfied with every little detail of everything around us? There are agendas all around trying to change everything from what the constitution of marriage should mean to the Constitution itself. We fight accepting things as they are and we are bold enough to think we should change them to what we think they should be. I truly believe that part of our journey here is to love and accept ourselves, others and the world exactly the way it is. We need to learn to be okay with who we are and embrace our whole self instead of changing the parts to make us feel whole. We need to learn to get along in relationships and accept that not everyone will be the person we think they should be and allow and appreciate them for who they are without prejudice, without judgement. We need to find a way to love ourselves and others including the parts that we consider our imperfections. Does that mean we should not improve what we can make better for the better of the people and the world as a whole? Oh course not but we do need to find a way to accept and appreciate and respect our lives without always wanting to be someone else or someplace else. The hardest challenge we ever face as humans is accepting things exactly the way they are without our preconceived notions trying to resist what is. Be in the moment. Be proud  of who you are. Love the world and your journey in life exactly the way it is and stop letting expectations and the constant grasping for perfection rob you of the precious time you have. Rant over.

2 thoughts on “Is There Anything We Will Not Try And Change?

  1. I will be the first one to admit there are a lot of things in my life I want to change. While I cannot resonate with what Caitlin Jenner is going through, I feel she is doing what will make her happiest, and I admire anyone who has the courage to be brave in their decisions with their life. I have been working hard on accepting myself for who I am, and though it is not the easiest thing in the world, I feel better for it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • At the end of the day, at least for me, I’ve realized that I can change my hair, my body, and even my gender but underneath it all I am still the same person, the same soul. Self love is the most difficult love of all. The happiest people I have ever known are the ones who learn to accept and love themselves. Thanks so much for the comment 😉

      Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

