Silver Linings

Standard

There are some lessons that only age alone can teach. All my life I believed in silver linings. I believed that if I waited long enough or had the patience to look hard enough, I would always find the silver lining in every cloud. Spending 5 years in Oklahoma and living forty plus years in all kinds of storms, I realize I was wrong all along. If a cloud has a silver lining, you will see it right away. You can spend years and years waiting in the same spot hoping to see it but sometimes it is just not there. It will never be there. No amount of looking or waiting or wishing will ever bring about a silver lining that just doesn’t exist. Sometimes a storm cloud is just that. It signifies that something terrible is approaching. Sure, you can choose to stand there and wait for the rainbow but I have finally learned to run. In fact, the older I get, the faster I find a place to take shelter. Not everyone is a meteorologist but at the very least, you have to know when to use some common sense. If the cloud is looking ominous, move your feet to a safer, sunnier place. Sometimes we create our own storms and other times we accidentally get caught up in one that was unexpected. Either way, remember you are the one responsible to keep yourself safe. Heed the warnings. Take control of your own life and don’t waste anymore time standing in the same dead end spot.

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

