What Are You Waiting For?

Standard

My hospice patient died today. I only met him once but I can still feel his firm grasp on my hand and the way he pulled me close and told me to take care of myself as I was leaving. We had a moment. a pause in time to stand there looking at each other. A moment to say I see you and you are important to me. I never expected that last Tuesday would be the first and last time we would ever meet. I remember him waiting for his daughter. That is what we do in life…we wait. We wait to grow up. We wait to graduate and go to college. We wait to get the perfect job and meet the person we are meant to spend our lives with. We wait to have kids  and then we wait for them to move out. We wait for phone calls that never come. We wait to have enough money to visit a person we love. We wait for the right time to go on the vacation we have always dreamed about. We wait for our daughter to visit in the nursing home and finally we wait to die. 

How many minutes do you spend waiting a day? A year? A lifetime? Don’t wait anymore. Do it today. Make it happen. Pick up that phone. Buy that plane ticket. Go on that vacation. Enjoy your life and love with your entire being. Feel each breath you take and be grateful for every minute you have. Don’t wait anymore. Death is inevitable and it doesn’t always wait until you’re ready. Love, forgive and live today, right now, in this moment. This moment is all you ever have. 

24 thoughts on “What Are You Waiting For?

  1. Thought provoking post, powerful message… Often times the day runs away with us, and then the the next day, and the next, and before we know it, it’s been a week since we’v made those important connections…Which reminds me, I must give my grown up kids a ring, it’s been at least a 12hrs since I last spoke to the youngest (of those who have left home), and longer the other three. πŸ™‚

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

