Yes, I heard You!

Standard

Yes, you heard my voice but you didn’t hear a single word I said. Am I the only one who feels this way? Have you ever found yourself in a conversation with someone who is not entirely present? You know the person I am talking about, the light is on but nobody’s home. I don’t know if it’s because people jump ahead in their thinking that they lose focus on the actual words or because they are so confident they are hearing something particular that they assume their assumption is the truth. Often times I long for someone to give me the time and attention it takes to really connect and understand me on a deeper level. It’s hard for me to continue to converse with the ones who jump ahead and come to a conclusion that is quite opposite of what I’m trying to convey. So someone please tell me? How do I stop myself from becoming so exasperated while nicely trying to explain myself in a way someone will hear and understand? You can’t only hear what you want to hear. You can’t twist someone’s words into a preconceived notion of what you think they believe. You must find a way to listen through the distractions in your own head and the external ones all around you. Can anybody hear me? Oh never mind. 

6 thoughts on “Yes, I heard You!

  1. Official pet peeve! I married into a family that does this constantly (though thankfully my husband does not). They are so busy planning what they are going to say in response to what they aren’t even hearing….ARGH! Is it too much to ask that you look at me and listen quietly until I’ve finished? I hear you, loud and clear!

    Liked by 2 people

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

