How Far Are You Willing To Go?

Standard

It worries me that people are so unhappy in their own skin, that they will do anything to become someone else. I am not judging at all, please don’t misunderstand what I’m trying to say. Why is it that people cannot love themselves the way they were born, the way they were meant to be? I had a coming to Jesus with myself about a year ago. I had put on about 15 pounds and I remember sitting on the floor crying because I couldn’t button a single pair of pants. I realized that I had to love myself at 130 pounds as much as I did at 115. I am happy to report that I got that weight back off but l will let you in on a little secret. When I look in the mirror, no matter how little I weigh, I always see myself at the heavier weight. I remember not too long ago,  I saw a picture of myself and I honestly couldn’t believe how tiny I looked. That is not the girl I see in the mirror. Why? I have no idea. I don’t have a degree in psychology but I have come to understand that the mind plays tricks. Somewhere in my life, I came to the conclusion that I had to be a certain weight to feel good and be attractive. Silly huh? And the mirror is a reflection of my fear and insecurity. The secret is to accept and love yourself just as you are every single day. I’ve learned to be grateful for the body I have every day. As for that mirror, I know it lies and I remind myself to practice self love the days the reflection back is not so positive. 

It’s so important to remember that we are all the same. We all have insecurities and wish we could change something about ourselves to be more comfortable with who we are. Ask yourself this question though, when will enough be enough? How much will you have to change before you are finally satisfied? How far will you have to go before you realize that until you love and accept yourself on the inside, you will never be satisfied with the outside. Just something to think about.

5 thoughts on “How Far Are You Willing To Go?

Waiting to hear your thoughts....