Why Am I Always Right?

Standard

It finally happened. As a parent, I don’t want to always be right. I don’t want to be the one standing with an angry face, hands on hips, saying I told you so. Honestly I don’t. Right before I left for Mexico, I sat my daughter down and I begged her to slow down. The day before, I was following her in my car and watched in disbelief, that even with a cop beside her, she had the audacity to drive over the speed limit. I begged, I pleaded for her to drive the speed limit and I really thought she finally understood.

It took exactly 10 minutes after I landed to get a text from her that looked something like this: 

I got a ticket

Sorry

I could feel my blood start to boil. I knew it was going to happen and I did all in my power to prevent her from making a mistake that would bring about a consequence that wouldn’t make any of us very happy.

I have finally come to the conclusion that kids just will not listen to their parents. They think they are smarter than us, that they know more. What I finally discovered is that eventually life will teach my kids everything I couldn’t, one way or another. Maybe now she will slow down, maybe she won’t. Unfortunately, the decision is up to her and as painful as it is, I have to watch her learn from mistakes that she wouldn’t have made if only she would have listened.

4 thoughts on “Why Am I Always Right?

  1. I have the same problem with my kids. It’s painful to see them repeating the same mistake over and over and only hear in response “stop nagging me”. I’m dreaming of the time when my teenage son moves out and has to pay his own bills and face consequences of failing to do the chores or work.

    Make sure she pays for the ticket herself and also for the increase in your insurance bill. I would suspend my kid from driving for a week or two as well.

    Liked by 2 people

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

