Flow With It

Standard

Late last night I shared my adventure of being diverted to another airport on my flight home due to weather issues. I guess life was testing me because the story got a little complicated way too fast. My intention was to go with the flow and not get overly stressed out by what I couldn’t change. Not long after we landed, the pilot made an announcement that the plane we were sitting on would not be flying anymore that evening. They had discovered some damage to the wing and didn’t think we could get flights back until the next morning. After what seemed like forever, they announced they were getting charter buses to bring us the hour and a half ride home. Flight time was 20 minutes so the crowd was pretty disappointed. Lucky for me, my husband was already on his way and I was very grateful. They eventually allowed us to leave through the back exit and make our way to the airport. The plane was half empty when they started yelling for everyone to get back on the plane. It would be fixed in the next 40 minutes and we were expected to sit and wait. I called my husband and told him to make his way back to the airport and sat there another hour and fifteen minutes. I, along with the other passengers watched in disbelief as the maintenance team duck taped the wing. At last we were off and our hour and forty five trip turned into five hours. It was a long day and I was exhausted but as I climbed into my own bed for the first time in weeks, I was very grateful, even if it was three in the morning.

Life is a test. Everyday we are faced with new challenges. Whether we pass or fail is entirely up to us. We can keep on flunking or finally get it right. The sooner the better because life will offer the same test over and over until we do. Someday, I will look back on this and laugh. Today is not that day. Until then, everyday, I will remind myself, I should not fight what I cannot change. Just flow.

2 thoughts on “Flow With It

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

