Is Your Relationship Fun? It Should Be

Standard

I am super excited this year! I mentioned recently that this weekend is my 17th wedding anniversary. There have been terrible years, wonderful years and everything in between. My husband is kind of odd when it comes to his way of thinking. There is no box to put him, he is definitely standing outside of it. He is not even in the same room with a box. Year after year, I have stood there speechless trying to find the right words to express my confusion, I mean gratitude for the gift he has so carelessly, um carefully picked out. I know the time and effort he puts into making just the right choice and this year I really want to return the favor. The funny thing is, he thinks he’s a genius and I’m there thinking what the he#l is this? I think the two years that caught me most off guard were #1 and #15. I don’t ever look up what represents what year of marriage so imagine my dismay when he was overly excited to hand me an origami kit for our first anniversary. All I could think was, is this a sign of what is yet to come but don’t worry because a few years later I would know for sure. Fast forward to year #15. I could never have imagined that tucked into that beautifully wrapped box was a crystal ball. I don’t think there are many ladies that can say they got one of those for their anniversary. The best part though is now I really can predict his future so I guess you could say that one backfired a bit. He would never possibly give me a crystal ball that didn’t work and believe me I use that to my advantage. Can you picture it? I see you vacuuming the house and cleaning toilets. I see you running to the store right now to buy me cookies and cream ice cream. I bet he’s really starting to regret that one. 

So, back to why I’m so excited! This year I found the perfect gift and I can hardly wait for it to arrive. I’d love to tell you what it is but he occasionally reads my blog so you, like him, will have to wait until the weekend.

If I had to describe this last year of marriage in one word, it would be FUN. We have really started to genuinely enjoy one another and take our relationship less seriously. We have learned to approach life with a sense of humor. It makes a tremendous difference.

What is the craziest anniversary gift you have ever received? What was the best and most memorable one?  What is the one word you would use to describe your last year of marriage? I’d love to hear about it!

Here is the link if you’re dying to hear the story of the crystal ball!

https://anewperspectiveperhaps.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/if-only-we-had-a-crystal-ball/

10 thoughts on “Is Your Relationship Fun? It Should Be

  1. Our 12th anniversary was at the end of April, we went to Greece a wonderful country and wonderful memories! At that time he gave me a 24k Gold Greek Coin made into a pendant. It is beautiful. The greatest gift is my 5 children! The last year has been as busy as ever. My hubs is great at getting presents/gifts so I do not really have a strange one to share with you. Cheryl

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on year 17! That’s quite an amazing relationship. Not to mention the time you spent dating before the marriage too. My husband and I will be going on to year 3 this September. We don’t really get gifts… We’ve been going on small trips. Last year we went to San Diego and this year were driving out to Calgary to visit a friend who is actually getting married soon himself. If I had to describe our marriage this year with one word… I would use the word hard…. It’s been a hard year… But we’ll get through it. We just need to keep all the communication lines open.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

