Is Friendship  Conditional?

Standard

A conversation with my daughter caused me to ponder whether or not my relationships are conditional. I believe love and friendship should be built on many things. The most important for me is respect. It is important to understand our boundaries and to be respectful of others boundaries at the same time. What does it mean to respect another human being? We all have to walk in some pretty heavy boots. They are ours to wear around and they will take us wherever we choose. Why do we feel we have the right to disrespect someone who chooses a path different from the one we believe they should be on? I remember a time a few years ago when my daughter switched swim teams. There were several kids from the old team that went out of their way to be mean to her. Why? Because she was trying a club that actually might make her a better swimmer? You would think that she personally offended those kids on the team. The truth is, her decision had nothing to do with them, she was simply doing what she thought was best for her at the time. Do we not have that right? Is that what friendship has become, not supporting decisions that better someone as a whole? I just don’t get it. A real friend would have encouraged any opportunity for her to grow inside the pool and out. She did end up going back to that team and it didn’t take long for everyone to come around.

I mentioned in a previous post that she decided to play volleyball first semester. She will swim eventually once volleyball season is over. Can you believe she is being mistreated again because of that? Who the heck do people think they are that their friendship is dependent on this or dependent on that? It saddens me especially because these kids are 16 and should know better by now.

Why am I griping about this today? I want you to go out of your way to support someone’s decision today. I want you to build them so high that they have total confidence in the decision they make. That’s what friendship looks like and that other thing? I can’t even put a name to it. Encourage people to do whatever it takes that will take them to the next level. Encourage people to follow their passions and live life in a way that truly makes them happy. That’s what friends and people who love you do. They respect your decisions and they support you too. It’s as simple as that.

8 thoughts on “Is Friendship  Conditional?

  1. Friendship is seasonal and conditional. People come in and out of our lives for reasons and for moments in time. I don’t have many friends I can say I have had for my whole life. It’s the way we are wired these days. Temporal stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

