What Exactly Did You Mean By That?

Standard

Do you examine conversations? Do you go back and ponder the words that are spoken to try and understand the deeper meaning of what someone is saying? Do you have too much time on your hands? Are you over thinking conversations that eventually damage your most precious relationships?

I know for me, words are just words. I certainly don’t try and say things I don’t mean but at the same time, my words are not the word of God. Sometimes I am making a joke or speaking to fill up the silence and my words shouldn’t be taken too seriously at all.

My point here is this, if you are so focused on someone’s words so you can determine what kind of person they are, cut it out. If we look hard enough for anything, the mind will eventually find it and people will simply stop wanting to be around you. No one wants to be questioned or challenged or feel like they have to explain themselves time and time again. 

Lighten up, words are just words. You give them meaning …….or not. Think about that one. Would you want someone over thinking and manipulating the meaning of your words? I don’t think so. Would you want someone throwing your own words back in your face? Oh no, I wouldn’t have guessed. Do you want someone wondering about you, what do you think she meant by that? Of course not. Don’t you do it either.

16 thoughts on “What Exactly Did You Mean By That?

  1. Arlee Bird

    I think most writers might disagree with this. There is great power in words and they are often used to manipulate others as well as the perception others have about whatever we might be talking about. It really depends on the purpose and context of the conversation or wherever the words come from.

    But I think I understand what you’re saying as well.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry I write it the way I see it. The world is not perfect. I write about both positivity and negative because the world is filled with both, like it or not. What prompted this post is yesterday I had a conversation with someone who asked that very question, what do you think so and so meant by that? Expecting the worst. My answer, nothing. Absolutely nothing. Kudos to you for living in only a positive world.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Let me say I make it a positive world by keeping to myself and dealing with family issues and close friends. If I let every person in a 5 mile radius of me affect me I might take on a different viewpoint. My life is simplified because we want it that way. I do not look for confrontations or ways to ponder others behavior that has nothing to do with myself nor my family!

        Like

      • That’s great for you. Not all of us have perfect families. We cannot pick and choose what family we are born into. There are problems, there is illness, there is abuse, there are mental disorders. Do we just turn our back on those family members and pretend they don’t exist. Do we disown them? You can try and make the world as positive as you want. You can simplify your life and never waste time wondering what anyone or anything means. What you cannot do is control other people who are in your life who you love. You can expect them to do the same. You cannot force them to love that way too. It’s so easy to point a finger when you are standing outside a window looking in. The room looks a little different when you are the one standing in the middle of it. I never try and judge anyone’s life because the truth is we will never know someone’s whole story. We all have to walk in our own shoes and we might be really surprised if we knew how they felt on our own feet.

        Like

      • I leave those issues to the professionals like psychiatrists, doctors, who deal those specific issues. I never try to make the world a happy go lucky place, in reality is it is not but my immediate circle of family and friends remain positive and we enjoy life and do not look for negativity. I definitely beat to my own drum! That is what makes us unique! Some follow, some lead. On a bad day my life is good!

        Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

