One More Time

Standard

Sometimes, if you are lucky enough to look in the right place at just the right time, you will catch something that you will be so grateful you didn’t miss.

My little girl, my first born, is 16. Everyday I look at her and wonder, how did this happen? Where did the years go? Today she invited some friends over to hang out at the pool. For whatever reason, I looked out just in time to see something that made me smile. Even though she is so serious during the week and trying her best to act all grown up, there she was holding hands with her friend running like a little girl and jumping into the pool. They were laughing and giggling and it reminded me of a time long ago. For a second, I got a glimpse of the little girl who couldn’t wait to jump from the side of the pool and into my arms. She was a little fish who, for whatever reason, loved the water. She would look at me with those wide, sparkling, beautiful brown eyes that would melt my heart and say “one more time mommy” which turned into a million more times. She was so small then and I had no idea she would grow up so fast. What I wouldn’t give to rewind to that moment in time. How I wish I could go there and catch her just one more time.  

 

13 thoughts on “One More Time

  1. yep…they grow up and move away, if only a few miles…this little 4yr old turned 18 in july and now she’s got a job that pays her more than I make AND she’ll be able to retire from that job in 25yr with a state pension…wow…I hope she does that

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wasn’t finished and it just cut me off!!! grrr. Just one simple small special thing to try every day . If you don’t, don’t stress. I did this when my Mom was dying and wish I had done it with the kids. It gave me the most wonderful memories to think on when I miss her.

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

