What Is Really Inside?

Standard

By now, I guess that everyone has heard that Wayne Dyer has passed away. I have learned so many lessons from him but one in particular has changed my entire perspective of why I react the way I do to other people.

  When you squeeze an orange, you’ll always get orange juice to come out. What comes out is what’s inside. The same logic applies to you:  when someone squeezes you, puts pressure on you, or says something unflattering or critical, and out of you comes anger, hatred, bitterness, tension, depression, or anxiety, that is what’s inside. If love and joy are what you want to give and receive, change your life by changing what’s inside- Wayne Dyer 

I used to blame other people for bringing the worst out in me and I guess in a sense that’s true. But what was not clear, was that person was not responsible for what I thought they pulled out of me. They were just the squeezer and the anger or the reaction was already in there. I could never disconnect the two. I always thought they were one and the same. 

It’s hard to admit who we are sometimes or even harder to stand face to face with who we’ve become. When we do though, when we find the courage to really look, we discover there is something beautiful about each and everyone of us. It’s just hidden underneath all those emotions that we portray through our actions, words and behaviors. We are not those things. They do not define us. We are so much more than that, so much better. Every day is another chance to be who you really are, the gently, serving, loving spirit who is there just waiting to reconnect. That is when you start to feel alive. That is when you discover that your purpose is to love, heal and enjoy this life that we are blessed to discover. Let everyday bring you closer to that place. It is there where you will find true peace and where the arms of happiness will forever embrace you.

14 thoughts on “What Is Really Inside?

  1. Word! My ex (the “big ex”) brought out the worst in me. I was still a kid, relatively speaking, but he turned me into someone I didn’t like. I was scrappy and possessive, insecure. (The insecurity part he definitely made worse; he was pretty emotionally abusive towards the end,) but the other stuff, it was stuff that was already there. I had to learn to control it, and it is something I didn’t fully learn until much later. We can not help our feelings, but we can help how we ACT on them, and often if you change your actions, your feelings will start to match.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have not read a lot of Wayne Dyer but I understand he’s really helped a lot of people. Thank you for bringing this up; you’ve given me something to ponder today. I have to think about how this relates to my own life. If my husband is the “squeezer”, and I react with pain… hmm. I have to think on that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know. It really makes me think hard about my relationships as well. The responsibility gets put back on me to make sure what’s inside of me is something much sweeter than what has always been in there. No more blaming other people anymore. It’s gonna be a long, tough ride. I better buckle up.

      Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

