Do You Accept The Challenge?

Standard

How come it’s so easy to tell someone what is wrong? Your lipstick doesn’t match your shirt. You need to be a better parent. You shouldn’t have done that. You should be working. You should cook dinner for your family. Seriously, the list goes on and on. It’s no wonder there is so much depression and unhappiness walking around disguised by a half- hearted smile on a really sad face.

Imagine if we made a commitment to point out only what is good about someone? You look beautiful. You are so smart. I love the way you interpret that. That lipstick is amazing. You are a really great parent. This meatloaf is delicious.

All I ask, is that you become aware of what you are saying to others. Make an honest effort to compliment everyone and be on a mission to make everyone feel good. Anyone can spit out an insult but not everyone can make someone feel like someone special.

Do you accept the challenge?

Build self esteem, don’t destroy it.

29 thoughts on “Do You Accept The Challenge?

  1. Challenge accepted. But I won’t lie to a person. If someone else just isn’t doing that great a job as a parent, I’ll just point out the things they’re doing right because I’m sure someone else has already pointed out everything they’re doing wrong.
    I’m especially going to practice this challenge with my husband. He’s been doing a lot right and a lot wrong but I’m this post made me realize that I’ve spent too much time recently pointing out how much he’s been doing wrong as a father and husband and not nearly enough time showing him appreciation for what he does right.
    Thanks for this post. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yet when we compliment it can point out… Oh so my hair wasn’t good the other day, you didn’t like my other colour lipstick…. I’ve found out over the years to just love everything about a person , by looking them in the eyes and smiling… Better with no words… I’m not sure where it started, our need to point out imperfections, hair on chin, pimple… Better to focus on self, accepting and loving no matter what. Barbara…

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

