Yes, I Am A Control Freak

Standard

There I said it, I’m a controL freak. I am a firm believer that we are faced with different situations to teach us a particular lesson until we finally start to get it. When I look closely at what is being to presented to me, there seems to be a common theme. Control. 

If you speak to my family and friends, they will tell you my house is always clean. I am crazy when it comes to my house. I have this insatiable need to keep it presentable and organized with as little clutter as possible. For me, a clean house is a clear and calm mind. I don’t even try and understand it, I just make it happen. 

Last year we battled fruit flies and it was an exhausting experience. This year it’s pantry moths. I have spent the entire morning throwing out food and wiping my pantry off with Clorox, vinegar and soap and water. 

I am an absolute baby when it comes to bugs. Every time one flies at me, I scream like a 5 year old girl. I smashed one with my hand earlier and it got stuck to my finger. The way I carried on, you would think I needed to cut it off.

So, control. This is a reminder that no matter how clean I keep my house, no matter how hard I try and manipulate my surroundings, I will never, ever be in control. Not only do I have to allow this in my life, I also need to be able to work around it. These bugs are supposed to be lesson for me and as I smash each one, I will be thankful and let them know how grateful I am that they are infesting my clean house.

More about control later, I must get back to removing these bugs. What are some obvious lessons that have been presenting themselves to you lately? I’d love to hear about it.

58 thoughts on “Yes, I Am A Control Freak

  1. Melanie (DoesItEvenMatterWhoIReallyAm?)

    Well dearie, you’re not alone in the control freak department. Since I’ve been sick, the hardest thing for me has been relinquishing CONTROL. I don’t even have control over my own body or mind in some days… never mind keeping my house clean! My hubby has been busting his ass to try his best to clean it for me, but “man clean” just isn’t the same. We are at war with fleas right now. We have everything imaginable in our arsenal to try to kill off this infestation all the while we’re trying not too kill ME in the process. It’s a struggle to be sure. So, I feel ya babe! 😘 Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing these reflections and insights.
    I have also found that life tries to wean me from control, and it seems to be about learning trust. And about keeping inner peace no matter what the circumstances are. Inner peace seems to be the prerequiste for good outcomes of troublesome issues.
    I hope you get rid of the fruit flies soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. koolaidmoms

    I too am a controller. I do not even like to drive with other drivers because I need to control the situation. I always volunteer to drive and honestly tell people I have control issues. Now I have to teach my daughter to drive. It is so hard to let her have the wheel while I sit in the front seat. But, I have to let her do it and I have to give up control. UGH.

    Like

  4. Well I’m completely opposite in every respect *giggle* I don’t care about bugs…even if they are there I decide to ignore them..like the menial problems of my life!..Why to kill an innocent soul πŸ˜‰
    And about the control freak part…that’s half of the problem of my life ..I am a bit too messy! You’re so lucky to have this habit of cleanliness! I swear :3

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The bugs are letting you know–if you listen–that you are never in control (of everything/enough). You cannot squash every flea or moth, either. They will just keep coming. They are like the pest I endured in school for 11 years. I couldn’t shut him down or up. All I could do was do my best to avoid him and ignore him by busying myself with things important to me. When I was doing what was right for me, he was (hopefully) no longer there. I suspect when I was doing what was wrong for me, he appeared.

    The bugs will stop bothering you when you adjust some aspect of what you are doing. I can’t be for certain what that is at the moment.

    I learned this after recent years of fighting an ant infestation. Squashing them does nothing but invite more. I had to find a means of repelling or discouraging their advances. And, in truth, regarding nature, the ants are just as much a part of this world as we are. So, maybe those fruit flies and moths are just passing through. [It’s our human “vanity” that makes us “Eek!”] Or, maybe there is something you need to change to make them go away.

    This reminds me of that Sims game and how you notice a character needs a shower when little flies are buzzing around him/her.

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

