Who Are You?

Standard

I am always amazed when I meet someone new. I love connecting with people and rediscovering the dying art of communication. Interacting with others and sharing a part of my soul with someone, feels like what I am meant to do. If I can touch one life or bring light to a heart thats been trapped in the dark, then I have served my purpose well.

What am I really here for? I have contemplated that question time and time again. There is a quote that has really challenged me to find purpose in my life beyond the superficial things that determine someone’s importance. We are so much more than the clothes that we wear. We are not any more or less if we drive a BMW or a beat up Chevrolet. We are more than our job, the amount of money we make and who others think we are. Whether we live in as mansion or a trailer, we all have unlimited value. We are a walking miracle so blessed to have this journey with so many other miracles all around us. Ask yourself, am I open to miracles? Do I allow life to flow through my veins or do I spend time making mental lists of all the reasons I hate my life? Am I allowing love or witholding it? I am often amazed at the one question that always comes up when I meet somebody new. Can you take a guess what it is? Think about something you would ask at the start of a new friendship or even with a stranger that you meet by chance.

What do you do for work? What do you do?

It’s like a blow to my heart every, single time. It is a reminder that we are more concerned with what someone is rather than who someone is. I never quite know how to answer that question. I wear my heart on my sleeve and I do my best to spread kindness and love. I am a keeper of peace, a gentle soul with a sensitive mind. I feel deeply and I hope to inspire everyone I meet even in the smallest way. My job, my purpose is to be who I am and to walk each step robed in gratitude. Everything I do, everyone I meet serves a purpose beyond what I’ll even know. I am a writer, a wife, a nurse, a daughter, a mother but those things are not me. They are not who I am but different hats that I take on and off to fit into the mold of how society needs to label me. I am nameless, undefinable but if you look at me close you will recognize me. I am you and you are me and no word is worthy of the enormity of what that means. We are losing that connection because we become the labels that place us in into little piles where we sit in the same room together but we never seem to dance. People decide who we are and that’s who we think we are. Yet, it is not true. It is purely what we are. We are confusing the two. We just stay put in our neat little box with our label marked in permanent marker. It’s safe there. 

We are beyond the color of our eyes or the color of our skin, where we work, what kind of grades we got in school but we can find each other if we notice that little light that shines from our eyes. When we connect with our eyes, we are one. That is where we will discover there is so much depth beyond the surface. That is when we realize that what we are is the part everyone sees. It’s like wrapping paper but inside that packaging is something so beautiful, so amazing and perfectly hidden. No human being can ever really know that part of you. You may not even know that part of you if you have stopped connecting with that part of you. The wrapping is obvious but perceived differently by every one of us. It’s pretty, tall, motivated, angry, compassion, love, hatred. Wrapping can make someone appealing or it can make someone ordinary. What’s inside though is none of those things. Even though we have come to believe it is. We are all extraordinary beyond the wrapping.

Next time someone asks you what you do, smile and say I do love. What do you do?

We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.~Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

5 thoughts on “Who Are You?

  1. I find myself torn between the “material” world and the “spiritual” world almost every day. Any time something from the “real” world gets me down or sucks air out of my lungs, I am immediately blasted with a gust from the “spirit” world, opening my mind’s eye to what I SHOULD be doing to satisfy my inner being. But, it’s sort of like someone waving a cake I can’t eat in my face. How can I satisfy my spirit when the world is clawing at and chaining me to other things that essentially bore me to tears?…things so many around me focus upon as if they are just paper dolls.

    I would think the alternative to “What do you do (for work)?” might be “So, which do you value more, personality or the latest fashion?” I am sure I can think up a better question, just not at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the-reluctant-parent

    I read a tweet a few years ago that said “I am a human being, not a human doing”, and that’s probably the most accurate way I’ve seen this whole idea summarized.

    We spend so much of our lives “doing” that I wonder if a lot of us forget to just be for a little while. I’m not a particularly religious or spiritual person but, nevertheless, there’s something in me that’s drawn to the phrase “be still and know that I am God”, just like it doesn’t make sense to me on an intuitive level that this life is all there is.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

