A New Perspective on Cell Phones

Standard

I know I complain often about cell phones and how they disturb living in so many ways but today I would like to offer a new perspective.

Last week I mentioned my mom was in the hospital. I was so relieved to know that I could get up to the minute updates from my brothers and sister. Sometimes having a phone in the pocket can come in very handy in those moments you really need to reach someone. My sister in law even snapped a photo of her in her hospital bed so I could I could get a look at her with my own eyes.

Last night my nephew made his first television appearance on ESPN. I was so disappointed I would have to miss it because I would be watching my daughter in her homecoming parade. While I was there, my sister sent me the video of him on TV right to my phone. I was so grateful and proud, I even shed a tiny tear. And the best part of all was hearing the family cheering in the background the second they saw his face on TV.

My niece is my little ray of sunshine. Nothing makes me happier then when she bugs her mother enough to let her FaceTime me. I love looking into her beautiful face. It is such an amazing gift.

I’ve mentioned that I don’t live close to home. I remember the year my birthday fell on Easter. Not only was I sad I wasn’t with extended family that day but I didnt even hear from them. I was sure they must have forgotten me. Then, I checked Facebook and they were all there in a video singing happy birthday to me.

Honestly, the cell phone really does help me feel connected in so many ways and disconnected in so many others. There is a very fine balance between abusing its privileges and talking advantage of all it has to offer. Somedays I love it, some days I resent it but I can’t deny it has much to offer.

What are your feelings about cell phones? Do you love them, hate them or flip flop between the two?

28 thoughts on “A New Perspective on Cell Phones

  1. You hit this one out of the ballpark, I feel the same at most times with certain notifications going off is a major distraction, yet at the same time when it comes to family or close friends that live far away we can get updates on the fly and to keep tab on certain nephews, also if we get stuck on the road, we don’t have to walk miles to the nearest phone, we can just dial Triple A for a tow (even though you have to wait an hour or more).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you..while sometimes we may feel that cellphones are a nuisance with all the notifications etc.they help us to be connected with our loved ones. I cannot survive without it coz it is the only medium by way I can speak with my mom and dad regularly and also with my sis (since they don’t stay close to me.) My sister gives me updates about her baby and although I feel sad I don’t get to see them often, I feel blessed to be connected with them through the phone πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Melanie (DoesItEvenMatterWhoIReallyAm?)

    I think I’m over the hate factor with my phone. I love it because it connects me with the world. Everything in moderation is good, and I especially need my phone these days for tracking my schedule, my family, my friends and my blog! 😘 Great post! But I cannot “like” it for some strange reason. I’m noticing this on a few blogs over the past couple of days for some reason… the latest update has fucked it up again. 😑

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m with the comments above. It has been a lifesaver at times, although a bit of a nuisance when I forget to turn off the sound while I’m teaching or sleeping. It does give me a sense of security on the road, knowing that I can call for towing or help. I probably don’t use it in the delightful ways you mentioned in your post. Thanks for some great ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We canceled our landline at home and only use our cell phones. I enjoy having our shared calendars and grocery list at my finger tips. I love getting a text from Emily and it allows me to stay on top of email, Facebook and WordPress without having to grab a laptop.
    The thing is, it stays in my purse, never out in the car and the ringer is always off πŸ™‚ I look at it when I want to…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    Most technology I could live without but I admittedly feel “disconnected” without my cell phone.

    As a parent I want my kids to be able to get a hold of me at any times. As a professional, same thing with my co-workers.

    Heck…I am commenting on your post from my phone.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. the-reluctant-parent

    This is an interesting topic and my perspective is more about thoughts on one of the features of the device, the ability to text.

    As convenient as texting is, and there are times when I use it to say hi to someone, okay, I use it quite a bit, especially when I don’t feel like yelling across the house to the wife to tell her coffee is ready or to send a message to the teenager to ask him to do his chores for the 8 millionth time.

    with all this technology, I think we’re losing a key component of communication and that is being vulnerable with each other. When you have something to say and write it in a text, you don’t need to really open yourself up to speak those words and the other person doesn’t have to do the same in listening to those words that you wrote instead of verbalized.

    as an example, read the words “I love you” in a text or send them in a message and then physically say them and hear someone else say it to you and notice the profound difference between them, not just the difference in how the speaker or sender of those words communicates that simple profound thought, but how the receiver of those same words feels when that communication is heard and not read.

    Now, since I’m blind, I often use dictation on my phone but it’s still talking to a device and not a person so the intensity still isn’t the same, even though I’m still verbalizing the message.

    When we talk and listen instead of text and read, we open ourselves up to risks of immediate reactions from the other, particularly if what we need or want to say isn’t something pleasant and those immediate reactions can change the direction and mood of the conversation in a way that modern texting cannot.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I bought my first cell phone in 1995 so I could call my children who were young teens if ever I got delayed due to traffic I had just separated from their dad and they phone was my immediate link with them since I worked at two jobs and was finishing my degree. Recently I bought an iPhone only so I could FaceTime my grandson on his iPod. I no longer have s home phone. Cell phones are a must when driving if you get car trouble or you can even save s life. Yep I’m sold on them BUT cannot stand hearing folks talking forever on public transit do the whole world can hear their personal life and drama

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. It drives me nuts when they are ringing at restaurants every few seconds soon. There has to be at least some time the phone is off limits and I believe dinner time should be one of them. I do love being able to reach my daughter if she’s running lasts. Especially now that she’s driving.

      Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

