What I Learned From Consecutive Integers

Standard

As I was helping my son with his Algebra homework, something became very clear to me. I believe we make life more complex than it needs to be. We push beyond our limits and we lack the intelligence or the self control to stop and say enough is enough. 

Let me explain. Chase has a test tomorrow and they started a new section today that will be combined with two other sections to be included in the test. There were 12 problems and the progression of the problems went something like this:

1) The sum of 2 consecutive integers =45. Easy right? 

8) Find four consecutive odd integers whose sum is 56. Getting tricky…

12) Find three consecutive integers such that the sum of twice the smallest and 3 times the largest is 126. Forget it!

12 problems, so much knowledge and a test tomorrow!

We have got to slow down. We need to allow ourselves to grasp one thing in our lives before we are tripping over our own feet running to get to the next. This is why we miss the details and walk around in a fog asking “why did I walk into this room again?” We are not paying enough attention in this moment because our mind has us jumping ahead to the next. We cannot survive peacefully and happily if we continue to live like this and follow this path. For me, it didn’t start until I became an adult but our kids face it at an earlier and earlier age. Just another realization that jumped in my brain that I felt worthy to share. I don’t know, what are your thoughts? 

6 thoughts on “What I Learned From Consecutive Integers

  1. Omg, the last question is so tricky!! What grade is your son in?? I managed to get the answer if it’s 127.

    2x + (x+1) + 3(x+2) =127

    If it’s 127, then the answer is 20, 21, 22.

    I feel bad for your son. It must be so stressful!

    But the way they word the question is so confusing!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the-reluctant-parent

    I think you’re right. the kids are being pushed to learn more and do more, and though doing and learning are valuable, neither would at all be possible without being and that’s the one that’s not encouraged in our fast paced, out-do each other society, just be, be still and know that, at least for a moment, your very existence is enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

