What Do YOU Think?

Standard

I went to see Martian again last night. I know you are probably thinking I am a bit obsessive when it comes to seeing movies these days but that seems to be the way I roll. Most things are feast, famine or nonexistent in my life. It is what it is. 

On the way home, I couldn’t help but think how different the world would be if we were not continuously trying to one up one another but rather working for a common purpose. We work  to find the first cure, we compete to send the first astronaut to the latest, most popular area of space. We strive to complete the most destructive weapon but imagine if every country worked together to make the world a better place for everyone? Consider what would happen if we all shared knowledge and technological advances and worked side by side to make amazing things happen. Don’t you think that is the way it was supposed to be? I really think it’s a shame that we are more selfish than selfless. Too bad nobody cares what I think. I can’t help but wonder though. Maybe competition isn’t so great after all.

13 thoughts on “What Do YOU Think?

  1. So, people give you a hard time about seeing movies?

    I know I get mad every time some country declares itself the first to do something or the best at something. If the US didn’t exalt such an ego, it probably wouldn’t be targeted for any harm.

    I am tired of “the space race.”

    Liked by 1 person

      • HATE movies? Then they are not friends. They are alien vanilla snatchers from the planet Boringas. Fricken freaks! Who doesn’t like ANY movies?

        Well, yes, and some escapes can be helpful…yet, I can’t help worrying the escape might gradually wear us down until we put on striped pajamas and make a break for it.

        I won’t see Martian unless someone pays me:P But, I will see other movies.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Usually I go to movies alone but I don’t mind. Why won’t you see Martian? I went because my daughter got extra credit in physics if she brought her teacher the ticket stub. So it cost me $40 to raise her grade one point. What the heck is wrong with me lol!

        Like

      • I have to go alone most of the time because 1) I don’t enjoy going with family unless it’s one of my sisters. 2) I don’t have anyone else I can go with, normally.

        It just doesn’t look like a good film. I am not a big Matt Damon fan. I saw that last outer space film he did…what was that again? Elysium? That one was okay but also a tad maddening. Before that I watched District 9 which was also quite mad and featured the guy that fights Matt Damon in Elysium. I just have doubts about the Martian film and think it’s propaganda for the plans to populate Mars. I wouldn’t be surprised if profits went to fund that trip…or funded some campaign to stop it. Who knows which.

        Oh, it earned school credit. Woopdie doo. πŸ™‚

        $40 for school credit? Not worth spit!

        Yea, I am asking the same. πŸ™‚ I am going to knock some movie/school sense into you, yet.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think healthy competition is a good thing, look at someone like Louis Pasteur and Joseph Lister, however competition can get out of control, but we have gone too far the other way now. For example everyone at sports day gets a medal and a well done, you should get the balance right

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

