Go Away Guilt

Standard

Guilt is the enemy. If I wrote down the list of things I feel guilty about in a week, I could fill an entire book. What is guilt exactly and where does it stem from?

This is how Wikipedia defines guilt:

Guilt is a cognitive or an emotional experience that occurs when a person realizes or believes—accurately or not—that he or she has compromised his or her own standards of conduct or has violated a moral standard and bears significant responsibility for that violation. It is closely related to the concept of remorse.

Back to the where does it stem from part. Only I make the choice to decide if something I say or do is beneath the standards I set for myself. The enemy is not guilt, the enemy is me and I need to replace that re-occurring wasteful thought with a healthier, more inspirational one. It’s so important to practice kindness and compassion and it’s easy for me to do when it comes to others. Why then, am I so darn hard on myself? 

How about you? Do you feel guilt often? How do you handle those feelings when they come up?

 

13 thoughts on “Go Away Guilt

  1. Being hard on yourself is better than what some religious types do when they whip themselves with those sharp whips. I think it’s subconsciously a means of toughening our skins. I’d like to think that’s what it is, anyway. Also, by beating ourselves up, we’re not an unnecessary threat to others. We save lives by blaming ourselves. But, it still sucks.

    I have been putting heaps of guilt on the back burner. I have heard enough crap from people telling me I need to stop blaming others and start blaming myself. So, now I say, “Yep. My fault. Just add it to the pile. I will get back to that, someday.” The piles just stack up like envelopes I file later. If I am to blame for nearly everything in my life, then I figure it’s better to let it wash away/over than try to disarm every bomb. If it takes me out without me stressing about it, so be it.

    Does that make sense?

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

