Anger Can Hurt You the Most

Standard

Sometimes it’s difficult to be a parent. The hardest part is not getting angry when our child does something terrible that he probably learned directly from us. Years ago, I used to be really passive aggressive. I would act like everything was fine but when I was mad, I would do one of two things. I would either act mad enough to let everyone know it or I wouldn’t talk at all. I realized at one point that acting out in this manner was only hurting myself. I would refuse to go someplace I wanted to go because I was so mad, even though I really, really wanted to go. It took years to get on top of this and finally make it stop. Sometimes I revert back, but for the most part, I have a pretty good hamdle on it.

My son has a field trip today and it was clear from his horrible attitude that he didn’t want to go. He asked me several times yesterday if he could stay home to which I repeatedly responded no. This morning was a challenging one. I watched angrily as he did everything in his power to let me know he was not happy. By the time he left I was in a terrible mood and then it dawned on me that I have no right to be mad and judge someone for something I myself used to do.

Remember, cutting your nose off to spite your own face is silly. Sometimes in life we will get upset or be forced to do something we don’t want to do. Do it anyway and do it with a good attitude. Otherwise, you don’t hurt the people around you as much as you make yourself look completely foolish.

What are some ways you cut off your own nose to spite your face? How do you feel after?

4 thoughts on “Anger Can Hurt You the Most

  1. I used to hold it all in until one day it erupted and my nerves were in a terrible mess. These days I find a nice relaxing walk with the dog helps get things in perspective. I always know when Hubby has something on his mind, and even though he doesn’t immediately talk about it, I know that once he’s got things sorted in his head he’ll tell me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If I bottled up my anger with my children, it would inevitably come out through some relatively minor thing, out of all proportion to the offence; the last straw. I found out eventually that the best thing to do if I was cross with them was to tell them ‘I’m bloody well cross with you because of…’ whatever it was, and we could then deal with it (hopefully!).

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

