Slow It Down

Standard

I had a chance meeting with an elderly checkout woman at Target yesterday. She looked into my eyes and asked, how are you today honey? I paused for a minute, shrugged my shoulders and explained to her I was having a rough day. I was frazzled. I left my wallet on a counter in another store earlier and everything I touched seemed to drop onto the floor. Her advice was priceless and I am grateful for her words. She told me in the years she has lived that she has learned to slow down. She told me that no matter how fast I try and outrun everything I need to do, there will always be more waiting. I thought about it for a minute and I realized that she was probably right. I was exhausting myself trying to outrun a train that would always be on my heels. How long could I possibly keep that up before I finally got run over? Sometimes it’s trying to stay ahead of thoughts and emotions. Trying to prevent things from happening is just as exhausting of dealing with whatever it is that slaps me across the face to finally get my attention.

Today, I went out and started my car to find out I had left the lights on and my battery was dead. Sure, this is the second time in a short period of time but maybe it was more. Maybe it was the Universe telling me to just stay home and chill out. Stop running Kim. Sit down for a while. The question is, what am I running from? That’s the problem. When I physically sit, my thoughts start racing. Maybe that’s why I keep physically moving in the first place. Who knows but either way I am meant to be right where I am. Right here with no ability to go anywhere else. I might as well make the best of it.

9 thoughts on “Slow It Down

  1. The ‘what are you running from” question is a valid one and I think it’s one that a lot of people avoid examining and in doing so, whatever it is for each individual, may become something more and more ominous, at least in the mind of the person perceiving that which he or she is trying to keep a good distance from.

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

