Making Room

Standard

I disappeared from WordPress for a few days. One change I am committed to making in 2016 is being more mindful. I want to leave the past in the past and allow the future to play out in its own time. I catch it happening all the time. On Christmas Day, we were talking about an event that would occur in a few days rather then just being there in the moment enjoying the day. If I had to guess, I would think that I spend atleast half of my life lost somewhere between before and after. Life is so much better when I take it one day at a time. This time of year brings a much needed break. I love that there is no schedule, no homework, no responsibilities. Nothing. I love sitting in the place of nothing surrounded by a calm that heals my restless soul. I would like to take this peace I feel right here and now into 2016. I have to find a way to eliminate distractions. They come in many forms and the biggest one of all is my phone. I love that I can do so many things with it but I do not love how preoccupied I am waiting for the next text or Facebook post or the next blog post that will come to mind.  So, as this year passes and I reflect on the last 365 days, it is obvious that I must remove each and every thing that robs me of peace. I need to trust that everything will work out the way it should and making myself crazy will not change a single thing except for me. I am strong, I am calm and I must surrender my need to control everything going on around me. Life is about perspective. My blog is about perspective yet somehow I have forgotten the difference it can make. It’s time to let go of the things that drag me down and make room for the ones that lift me up. There is no space when the shelves are full. Remember when you are filled with distraction, you will feel no calm. When you are drowning in anxiety, you will never find peace. What will you make room for this coming year?  What do you hope to let go of?

8 thoughts on “Making Room

  1. Peace – that’s a word that’s been on a mind a lot the last few days. It’s so hard to find peace when living in such a fast-paced hectic world. But, we can and we should. Living in the past and in the future may be fun for a moment, but it only adds even more onto our already full plate. Focus on the now. Enjoy the moment. Relax. Have peace. Happy (early) 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. aubspiration

    I love this post. This is something a struggle with a lot and in finally coming to love myself I realize that I deserve inner peace. I wish I could say I have no responsibilities this coming year, but in fact, it’s quite the opposite for me. This is a big year for me with a lot of hard work and persistence ahead, however I still owe it to myself to be at peace and enjoy the moment and the process. Thank you for this post. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one that struggles with this. I tried meditation and it seems to be helping me a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

