Making a Murderer is Making Me an Insomniac

Standard

I couldn’t help myself. I guess you could say my curiosity got the best of me. I started the first two episodes of Making a Murderer. Needless to say, I didn’t get much sleep last night. So many things ran through my head. I cannot imagine anyone spending that many years in prison for something they didn’t do. It is truly a travesty. Do I think someone should pay? You bet I do. I can’t help but think about my own school situation with my son. I have watched a school system go from an organization I can trust to having to watch my own back. I have watched them right wrongs and not admit to clear cut evidence against some of the teachers. I have watched them go from a sympathetic ear to turning and pointing a finger at me to avoid addressing the real reason we were there in the first place. They have accused me when they are the ones who should be on trial. I have had to remove my son from a particular class where I am sure he was being taunted and singled out. Why haven’t I filed a complaint with The Office of Civil Rights? The answer is simple. Their denial and abuse and repercussions are too much of a risk to take. They will never admit to wrong doing even when it’s obvious and they will always stand together and support one another. How do you go up against that? Clearly, you don’t . It’s a shame and it happens on every level. Organizations and systems get so powerful that they can do whatever they want without repercussion and they never know what it’s like to experience fear.

As for the second crime, I honestly don’t know and I’m afraid there is only a handful of people who will ever know the truth. How could they even sleep at night? My insomnia came back just thinking of my own situation. It’s awful anyway you look at it, anyway it plays out. Such a shame. I can’t wait to watch more. They say the truth will come out but I don’t believe that’s truth at all. We may never know and there will always be people who pay the consequences and people who never will. That’s life I guess and it’s really unfortunate.

9 thoughts on “Making a Murderer is Making Me an Insomniac

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    All I can say is this: Treat anything from “Hollywood” as an editorial and realize that they are showing you what they want you to see, which may not be all the facts.

    I heard about the petition sent to the White House and I wonder how many people actually did any additional research looking at the case, the evidence and the actual court case.

    However I think this does flow directly to what we do as parents. We hear our children’s version of what happened but it is imperative, before we jump to conclusions, to listen to the other side and analyze the facts dispassionately before making any decisions.

    Like

  2. Now I am curious to watch the show.
    So sorry to hear about your experience with the school. I’ve said it many times over the years, if I didn’t have to trust those people with my child, I would push more, demand more …but from where I stand, Em is happy and safe at school. She’s not learning academically but she’s improving her life skills. Private tutoring (out of pocket expenses) is where she’s learning and progressing academically. Yes, that should be happening for free at school but I’m not willing to jeopardize her happiness and potentially her safety by pushing for what she’s entitled.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

