Catching My Balance

Standard

How do you keep a sane perspective in the middle of chaos? I found out today that Chase has 5 tests this week and a writing assignment due next Tuesday. I don’t understand why it’s so difficult to communicate these days and give parents and kids more time and a sufficient heads up to prepare for whatever they need to do. Tonight on top of an hour and 15 minute time consuming biology assignment, we tried to study for the two different quizzes in the class on Wednesday and Friday. At 8:30, while I was reading to Chase and trying to help him understand photosynthesis, he fell asleep. My first reaction was anger and I am saddened by the way I treated him when I told him to go up to bed. My second reaction was reality. There is only so much one can do in a day. Like it or not, sometimes we run out of daylight sooner than expected and we just need to call it a day. It’s only Monday and the poor kid is drained and exhausted. Perhaps instead of giving these poor kids packets of questions to read and answer themselves, maybe someone should attempt to actually teach the information. Not every kid can be self taught and reading comprehension plays an enormous part. The information is confusing enough and the way the questions are worded in these packets are ridiculous. I know because I sit by his side and help him try to do them when I can’t figure out the information myself. One day at a time. One class at a time. As a mom, it’s my job to make him believe he can do this. I just have to remember it’s important he doesn’t only do this. Balance is the most important lesson of all. I’m finally understanding that really well.

5 thoughts on “Catching My Balance

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

