My Thoughts on Confessions

Standard

As I watched the segment where the 16 year old boy “confessed” to murder in Making a Murderer, I was brought back to a time when I was 16. 

My mom was very convincing and she knew a lot of people. I was the 3rd of four kids and start to finish, the oldest and youngest are 20 years apart. Needless to say, by the time I came around, she had learned all the tricks.

I remember her questioning me a few times about where I had been and what I had done. The truth is, if she believed I went someplace then no matter what I told her, she was still going to believe I was there. I could tell in the way she questioned me. It went something like this:

“I know you were at that party last night. I have talked to people who saw you there and if you lie to me I will be very disappointed and I won’t be able to trust you anymore so let me ask you this one time and I hope you will be honest with me.”

How in the world do you react when someone in authority is convinced that you did something that you absolutely know you didn’t?  That person in authority tells another person in authority(in my case my father)and before you know it, you have no other option than to lie and admit that you did whatever they have convinced themselves you did.

I had a conversation over the weekend with my seventeen year old daughter and two of her friends. I was telling them about the interrogation and all three told me they have admitted to things they didn’t do because they felt they had no other option. Surprisingly, it wasn’t as much with their parents as it was with their teachers. That’s discouraging and I will tell that story another time.

My point here is this, just because you believe something doesn’t make it true. Even if my car is on a road where a party is taking place and ten other parents see my car on that road, it doesn’t mean I was ever at that party even if the evidence points in that direction. 

Things are not always what they appear and our minds go crazy putting pieces together of a puzzle we may never be able to complete. 

Be open to the fact that what you believe to be true may not be the truth at all. We are only human and we have 100% chance of getting it wrong every single time we think.

11 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Confessions

  1. Being a paranoia, I have to rein myself in constantly. It is not easy to trust unconditionally when you have lived your life as a hyper-vigilant due to broken trusts by adults or teens in your life but no matter how hard it is, I have to let go of my need not to be unaware. That need gets my “what if’s” flowing and before you know it, a confrontation turns into a full blown trust war and it is not easy to undo an unfounded accusation. On a lighter note, my parents sat both my brother and I down in an inquisition as to who took the car out in the middle of the night and wrecked it. They were so sure that my brother was responsible because I was too short and didn’t know the first thing about driving. I was just there out of a sense of fairness. My brother finally started to own up to it even though he was not responsible but I admitted that my friends and I had been the ones to take the car out. I have always wondered whether my brother was going to take the blame to end the inquisition or to protect me. Good topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post. To this day, whatever my dad says is the truth…. Which at the end means the truth doesn’t matter. A white wall will be called blue if he says so. I’m slightly exaggerating but that’s the way he is. He moved away when I was 7 so I wasn’t put through the ringers really often and for one month in the summer and a week over Christmas, I just agreed with him that the wall was blue :). Sad but true.
    The one thing he taught me with that? I listen intently and try really hard not to impose my truth onto others…
    Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

