Fight or Flight

Standard

 Provoke: to cause a reaction, especially an angry one.

 There’s always one. No matter what you do or how hard you try, just the mere sight of a particular person can make you go from a normal human being to a raging, angry maniac in 2.5 seconds. You can feel the heat rush to your face and you lose all control because they’ve learned to push your buttons with their calculating words. It happened today. That person barged into my life, put up his boxing gloves and said lets go one round. Maybe it didn’t happen exactly that way but that’s how it felt. I could feel my body tense up and my stomach start to turn and I made the choice to walk away. It’s only a fight if I choose to participate and today I chose to step out of the ring. Everyday I am learning that I have more power over my life that I ever imagined. I’ve learned the value of sitting one out and not always being the one who volunteers to take one for the team. I am making wiser choices and one day at a time, my wounded soul is learning to heal. Sometimes the best thing you can do in a fight is to just walk away from it.

12 thoughts on “Fight or Flight

  1. Your post reminded me of a time when I chose flight over fight, and oh was it satisfying! A colleague chose to raise an issue with an aggressive memo rather than discussing it with me. He also decided to make it very public by sending copies to multiple parties. This, without even discussing the issue with me.

    It turns out he was completely off-base in his interpretation and I immediately started a scathing rebuttal memo. But then I thought better of it and decided to simply ignore his attack as unworthy of my attention.

    It drove him crazy! He made several inquiries of whether I had seen the memo and what I was doing about it. He strolled by “casually” to see if I’d engage him in verbal combat, but I refused to engage. I just said hi as if nothing had disturbed my tranquility at all. Oh, that was so satisfying.
    Jerry

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

