Why Do We Do It?

Standard

Sometimes I feel like a hamster running as fast as I can with all my effort and focus on that silly wheel. The problem is my goal is to actually get someplace and not to put in countless hours of blood, sweat and tears to just end up physically and mentally drained. At what point does a hamster just retreat to the corner of the cage and never get on the wheel again? It’s awful for anyone to have to dedicate themselves to something that they will never get a single thing out of except for an ongoing cycle of insomnia followed by a painful headache. I can’t help but wonder why some things in life are set up that way. Why do things have to be more difficult than they need to be? Why do we need to be buried under tremendous amounts of stress and neverending workloads? It’s like a job requiring 3 steps to complete but to challenge ourselves we add in an extra 100 steps. That’s great if you are on a stairmaster trying to lose weight but if the goal is to get something done quickly and efficiently, 3 steps would be a better plan. It’s like spending the whole day washing clothes only to repeat the cycle an entire lifetime until you finally close your eyes for the last time. At least when it comes to doing laundry, the payout is having clean clothes but when there is no payout? Imagine people buying these powerball tickets with a way to fix the system so that there would never ever be a single winner. Why buy a ticket if you don’t even have a chance to win? But somehow we do. We wake up and we go straight to that wheel day after day after day. I don’t want to be a hamster anymore. Running is overrated. I want to be a bird.

7 thoughts on “Why Do We Do It?

  1. I want to be a bird -also. On my way home today, a bald eagle flew straight overhead. The sky is a soft blue, small clouds billow overhead, and the sky is bright. Clear and beautiful came this eagle, and I was one of the lucky ones to see him. It reminded me of your post, that I’d read earlier today, and I knew -why would I want to run, when I could fly like an eagle? Yes, I want to be the eagle and have others stop, as I fly by.
    http://www.fiddledeedeebooks.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like it. I believe people spend silly amounts of money on the lottery because, even though logically and rationally, they know there’s not a chance in hell of ever winning, there’s an irrational desire to get something for almost nothing, the entitlement mentality on a large scale to a degree, if that makes sense.

    It’s almost like work is a 4-letter-word with a negative connotation and I suppose if you’re working at a job you don’t like, then the negativity towards that concept is understandable. but making an effort to find yourself and finding your love isn’t as fun as spending $20, $50, or even $100 for a ticket to the easy life which will never be realized. As an old English poet said “it’s a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, representing nothing.” and I’m doing that from memory, not using google so it’s probably not exact. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

