Which Came First?

Standard

Do you think it’s possible that our feelings toward someone affects the way they behave around us? Maybe it’s not their behavior that leads to our feeling about them but rather the other way around. It points us back to the original question, which came first, the chicken or the egg?

Today I made a real effort to be conscious of the way I was feeling about the people in my everyday life. I approached them in a gentler, kinder way and the exchanges were amazingly different than usual. Maybe we have more control over our relationships than we ever imagined and the missing link is controlling our own attitude and our own thoughts. I am looking forward to exploring this further and putting my theory to the test.

What are your thoughts? 

17 thoughts on “Which Came First?

  1. I tried this exercise before. Instead of being annoyed at people at work and at home, I tried to highlight their positive traits in my mind, wish them well, and think how I can be helpful to them rather than focus on my annoyance towards them. Suddenly, my wife liked me better, and the boss’s attitude towards me has also changed. Home and work became much better places for me. This practice can really change your life and the life of people around you. But it’s quite difficult to do because we often do not control our emotional reactions which automatically reflect in words and actions.

    I think, this is how the whole “forgiveness”, “do not judge”, and “love your neighbor” thing works. Religious people call it “God’s work”, but it’s not that mysterious or supernatural, really.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I think even if you do not verbalize your feelings there will be no-verbal cues and body language that are dead giveaways.

    There are plenty of studies out there that show the bulk of communication is done through those non-verbal cues.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

