A Wake Up Call

Standard

I always say, it’s the little things that make you feel big but today it was one little thing that made me feel small. I’ve mentioned before that I volunteer at Hospice once a week. I started my day off pretty stressed today but eventually I got things under control. It’s amazing sometimes how we allow our minds to blow the simplest things out of proportion. The opposite is also true. It’s easy to forget how lucky we are for the smallest blessings that go unnoticed. Today that reality reached out and slapped me square in the face. 

When I walked into the room today, my lady was slumped over in her wheelchair. Her neck was all out of sorts and she was leaning to the right. Her recent history of strokes had robbed her of her ability to take care of herself. She was no longer able to sit up straight. She could not use the left side of her body and had to rely on everyone for anything she may need or want. She asked me for a drink three times while I was there. I couldn’t help but wonder how long she sat there parched and thirsty. I sat down beside her chair and she wouldn’t let go of my hand. She told me about a lake she used to spend time at and begged me to take her there. Her begging and pleading was enough to break my heart.

It was in that moment that I promised myself I would  be more aware of the simple things I take for granted. As I write these words, I am grateful I can hold my phone and use my fingers. I am grateful that I can sit up straight in this chair and that I am more than capable to get my own drink. Time has a way of putting everything into perspective and boy was today that day.

Count your blessings. Be grateful for all you have and help someone less fortunate than yourself. Remember that your life can entirely change in a single moment so in this moment close your eyes and give thanks.

13 thoughts on “A Wake Up Call

  1. I had a very similar experience with a client the other day. It slapped me in the face, and broke me heart a little too. This man could barely even voice his needs let alone attempt to do any of it himself from I’m guessing a similar tragedy of a stroke but I can’t be sure. I did my best to make him comfortable while I was working with him but the experience brought a tear to my eye. It sure does give you a different perspective on life and it’s quality.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

