My Mind Goes Back

Standard

It all seems a little backwards to me. Our priorities, the way we are forced to live our lives. I was remembering a time not so long ago when I was sitting in the middle of a square in the heart of Rome. I was tantalized by the music and the way the streets were transformed into romantic tables filled with candlelight and the aroma of tomato sauce and fresh pasta. The people were gathered there in the middle of it all sipping wine while sitting back on the marble steps engaging in conversation. 

I compare that to my own busy life. When I drive  down the street, neighbors are too busy staring into their phones to wave. Family dinners are replaced by 10 quick minutes of shoving food in your face and then rushing to get to the next thing. Home is filled with homework, studying, bills and emails that didn’t get finished during the day. We are racing to get that next grade, the next promotion, the next anxiety attack. We are stressed and exhausted, quite a contrast from my memory of that square. Perhaps the American Dream is actually a nightmare and it’s time to find a way to get back to the living part and remembering what’s really important.

I have a tiny patio out back surrounded by rose bushes and white lights draped overhead. Once in a while, I play that music from the square and my family sits out back as we enjoy bread and pasta and my husband and I sip some red wine. We end our evening with conversation and gelato and for a second I am back there in that square and my heart and my stomach are completely full. 

7 thoughts on “My Mind Goes Back

  1. Sounds lovely. We’re slowing working on our own little patch here in Western Australia. My dream is to have a patio surrounded by trees and plants and flowers. a green writing space for me, and for family whatever they choose it to be ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the imagery of this post and I agree with you about the part about the American dream. We’re one of the few cultures where we feel the need to work 60, 70, even 80 hours a week just to keep up with the lifestyles we’ve convinced ourselves that we can’t do without. some of us even work at second jobs a few times a month, jobs that we hate just to earn a bit of extra money to maintain the lifestyle. You’ve read my blog so I know that you know what I’m talking about. Do our kids care about the fancy car, the softest towels, etc? I would say no, they would rather have us spend more time with them than spending that time maintaining a style of living that they’d probably rather not have if it meant us taking more of our time with them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I do believe that’s true. I have tried my best to emphasize what is really important attune end of the day. It’s such a difficult thing to do these days, sometimes an uphill battle.. One worth climbing though ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

