A Mark On My Heart

Standard

I love you was the last thing she would ever say to me. As I looked into her beautiful eyes, my heart knew this would be the last time, this was really goodbye.

I had no idea when I decided to volunteer for Hospice how attached I could become to another human being in such a short time. I was telling my dad how deeply affected I was by the recent death of a patient I had grown to love. His response took me by surprise. “It’s not good to get attached.” I knew he was wrong. I had come to understand that being completely open to embracing someone with my whole heart was one of the most beautiful gifts I would ever know. Tonight I am in pain. As the rain falls against my window, my tears fall onto my pillow. I am comforted by the fact that my sweet little lady finally got her wish to go back home. I will miss her sweet face and the warmth of her hand and I am a better person because our lives touched, if only for a moment. Timing is everything and I believe everyone we meet serves a purpose. Our short time will leave a mark on my heart. I hope she knew just how special she was to me.

15 thoughts on “A Mark On My Heart

  1. I worked for a year with elderly patients, many of them terminally ill. We get attached. That’s what humans do. It can make it very hard when one dies, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. It proves that a connection was made, and that we mattered. Treasure that pain!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sorry for your loss. It is better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all. Love is the greatest gift of all, and everyone deserves to feel that love, no matter how short their time in our life may be.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

