Why We Should Read Children’s Books as Adults

Standard

“If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change” ~Wayne Dyer 

It has taken me years of suffering and struggling to finally embrace and understand the power in this simple quote. The result is amazing and this is only day 2 of putting this theory into practice.

For years, I have been a fixer. If there was a problem then gosh darn it, I would search for a solution. That searching nearly destroyed me. It’s a hard reality to face that I have very little control in anything going on around me. I have a choice to get sucked into the anxiety and hopelessness of a situation that is uncomfortable or I could simply manipulate my mind to see the entire situation a different way. I made that decision yesterday and although I am a little apprehensive, I am much less anxious and attached to results. When I let go of my need for a particular result or path to solution, I let go of the grip it had on me. I am breathing a little lighter today and reacting with much less panic. It’s only the beginning. As Dr. Seuss so eloquently put it,

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…

Find the power in your thoughts today. 

9 thoughts on “Why We Should Read Children’s Books as Adults

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

