Lessons From The Laundry

Standard

“How am I supposed to get to them underneath all of this?”

That was my sons response when I called him downstairs at almost 10:00 at night to get his freshly washed sheets from underneath 4 loads of wash that still needed to be folded so he could put them back on his bed and go to sleep.

As he said those words, the truth became inescapably clear. How in the world could I get to anything I needed to get done when so many things kept piling up on top of the list I couldn’t even find anymore? No wonder I’ve been feeling so unmotivated!

Why do I let that happen? Sometimes I get so overwhelmed that I just ignore it all. I avoid those mundane, unappreciated, everyday, annoying tasks that act as a super efficient time suck. One small load of laundry turns into a mountain high pile of clothes that becomes so intimidating I don’t even know where to start. I shut the door and walk away.  Everyday I feel smaller as I am crushed underneath everything until there is not enough air in the room to even breathe. I got several texts today. “Mom, I’m out of cereal and I need shampoo.” “Mom can you pick up sharpies so I can finish my blackout poem? Oh and colored duck tape for my science project and some chili cheese tator tots when you pick me up after school?”

As hard as it is to admit, I’m not twenty years old anymore. My energy supply is limited and when my tank is empty there’s nothing more I can do. I have found peace with going to bed with a list of things that didn’t get done. It doesn’t matter how much I do today, tomorrow there will always be more and that’s something I have to learn to live with.

6 thoughts on “Lessons From The Laundry

  1. I often get overwhelmed by the amount of mundane seemingly unappreciated tasks that I have to do as well. I’d rather spend my time working on my music but I even have days or weeks when I don’t want to finish up a collaboration and the like.

    After I get it done though and I look back on it, it didn’t take as long to do it as I thought it would when I felt like it was an insurmountable task.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very familiar. With 4 kids, one 2yo and 3 school age I can totally relate. The schools have a tendency to add tremendously to the todo lists. The teacher appreciation week is a perfect example. Weekend: write “thank you” notes with the kids for all teachers and personnel. Buy flowers. Monday: bring a flower to one school and notes to the other. Tuesday: Bring a flower to the second school and notes to the first. Wednesday: bring treats for teachers to school. Thursday: leave $20 with the PA rep. for the gift cards. Sign forms for the upcoming field trip. Drop off medicines at school (can’t just send it with the kid – need to drop it off personally). The high-schooler is behind on math and literature assignments. Needs help… And then, class is out of facial tissues or out of glue – parents: help! Bring paper towel tubes for some special science project. School carnival – buy tickets. Family movie night. PA meets on Wednesday to elect a person to send out the newsletters. Delete… Delete… Delete… Recycle… Recycle… Recycle… Sigh… Relax… 90% of this stuff can be safely ignored.

    Oh, yes, the laundry, the dishes, toothpaste on the mirrors in the bathrooms… Train the kids to do the dishes and to put the laundry away.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

