Don’t Go Back There Anymore

Standard

Have you ever been through a time that almost destroyed you? It could be the end of a relationship, loss of a job or just a situation that nearly drove you over the edge.

Last night while I was trying to fall asleep, I kept rehashing a time like that in my own life. I kept thinking about how the situation should have gone differently and replayed uncomfortable conversations in my mind. A few minutes turned into hours and I could feel the anxiety growing out of control.

I had a fleeting thought that caught me a little off guard. Why in the world would you want to go back and revisit that hell? No matter how much I thought about it or replayed it inside my head, the fact is it was never going to change. I realized how much time and energy I spend in a time or place I don’t want to be because I make the choice to go back there. It’s time to make the choice to walk away. Leave it behind and stop looking back.

How many times have you done this in your own life? How did you finally disconnect and walk away for good?

6 thoughts on “Don’t Go Back There Anymore

  1. I still have dreams about ‘how things were’ but in the present day, and the kicker is I know the kids (not mine!) are in their 40s now, not teenagers. However, the outcome and departure from that part of my life made me a better person, and whilst I have no place in their life now nor they in mine, I definitely would not want to go back.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

