Yep, it’s one of THOSE days!

Standard

If I had a dollar for everytime I had to do something I didn’t want to do, I would be a millionaire. With parenting comes many responsibilities that take many hours of long work. Sometimes trying to get my kids to do anything is like running head first into a brick wall after already breaking my own neck. Why does it have to be this difficult? Kids question everything these days and they challenge their parents every chance they get. I’ve recognized that it’s just impossible to be their friend and their mother as we all suffer our way through these tumultuous teenage years.

If I’m being completely honest, I must admit that I am, for the most part to blame. They wear me down and I just don’t have the energy or motivation to stay on top of them the way I know I should. I wouldn’t dare disrespect my mother. If she told me to get something done, like it or not, I would get it done. My kids believe they can pick and choose what to do and when to do it because their own needs and rights trump the rights of their parents. The world is out of control and my kids are spiraling right along with it. The selfishness, disrespect for others and lack of concern for anyone but themselves leaves me feeling like I have failed as a parent. I try my best to be an example but I cannot force them or anyone else to follow it. Some days are just so much harder than others and some days I let things get to me more than I should. I guess today is one of those days.

One thought on “Yep, it’s one of THOSE days!

  1. the-reluctant-parent

    big hugs. I know exactly how you feel.

    The wife says things like “You have to choose your battles” and “is this fight really worth it?” and when I told that to my mom she said “No! you don’t choose battles but I’m from a different generation”.

    If I talked to my parents even a little bit like the teenager sometimes talks to us, I would not be able to comment on your blog post because I would not be here to do so.

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

