What Does Your Word Mean?

Standard

Even when I have the best intentions, sometimes my word doesn’t mean a thing. When it comes to following through with other people I am usually spot on but when it comes to keeping my word with myself, not so much. Even as I type the words I realize how silly this all sounds. One of my biggest pet peeves is people who make plans with me and never follow through. It is one of the most offensive things someone can do to me. I’m not referring to the occasional cancellation of plans but the habitual, almost predictable kind that unfortunately never comes as any surprise. Starting today, I am going to do what I set out to do. No excuses, no backing out. My body was aching this morning when I got out of bed but I said I was going to go to yoga and make a trip to Target and I actually did. Was it easy? Nope. Did I enjoy it? Not a chance but it feels so good that I followed through on my own word. What is something you are working on getting better at? I’d love to hear about it.

6 thoughts on “What Does Your Word Mean?

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I may tell myself internally I am going to do “something” and sometimes I follow through and sometimes I do not. However when I verbally give my word to someone else, I make it a point of following through. In life as in business you are only as good as your word.

    Like

  2. I’d say what I am working on improving personally, but it would be a lie. I am probably as bad as you if not worse at following through with myself. In part, I make few if any declarations of what I will do. I’m terrible at setting goals and making plans, except for the rare trip I’ve taken far from home (which was an example of how planning thoroughly doesn’t always work).

    But, like you, I feel good when I follow through…at least, with others. Starting with my nephews. I do NOT want to be just another adult who makes promises to kids he doesn’t keep and then blame it on being too tired after work to do anything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Being an example for younger ones sure holds you accountable. At least we are aware of not following through enough with ourselves. That’s step one in changing something. At least being aware of something that needs changing 😉

      Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

