Disgraceful Behavior at the Olympics? You Decide!

Standard

With all the attention over athletes not putting their hand on their heart during the playing of our National Anthem at the Olympics this year, I realized something simple we may have overlooked. The lesson came in the form of an innocent text from my 14 year old son. He snapped a picture of directions explaining how to set up a password for a school account. It explained to use initials+birthday(month, day, year). Example: oh022016. It seems like a no brainier right yet he actually needed help. Apparently, I never taught him the month of January was month 1. It seemed so obvious to me so I assumed he must have known. I wonder if the athletes were in a similar position. Maybe they were never taught what was proper form and the whole idea of them being purposely disrespectful was not the truthful narrative at all. To be honest, I did not know putting my hand on my heart was required and maybe, just maybe, our athletes didn’t know either. I really believed standing at attention was enough until I googled the US Code National Anthem that clearly describes what is appropriate and what is not. Sometimes we have to give people the benefit of the doubt. Sometimes it’s necessary to lead by educating those who do not know instead of embarrassing and humiliating them. What do you think?

11 thoughts on “Disgraceful Behavior at the Olympics? You Decide!

  1. koolaidmoms

    I don’t think it was disgraceful. The rules about putting your hand over your heart during the National Anthem haven’t changed since the 1940s but somewhere in the 1980s-90s when we started to do away with daily pledge in some classrooms “rules” became muddy. The phrase “One Nation under God” caused issues in some schools so it was done away with. I was taught to stand when the first flag came by during a parade (not about putting my hand over my heart), to stand up for the National Anthem but to put your hand over your heart was “voluntary”, and the only time you had to put your hand over your heart was during the Pledge of Allegiance. I think some of the “rules” have been lost over time and if we want them back then we should teach it uniformly.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I applaud you for being a calm and wise voice in this age of hair-trigger reactions to things that, when considering what goes on in our world, are quite trivial. Though it is important to demonstrate respect for the flag which one lives under and to acknowledge what that means, it isn’t necessary to publicly ridicule those who don’t fall in line with regards to exact form and protocol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t see it as disrespectful I mean male athletes do it and laugh but nothing happens but then one female athlete didn’t and then people went and attacked her. Sometimes people just forget I mean at the olympics what’s really on the persons mind is the completion and trying to get a gold medal rather then not putting your hand over your heart. Isn’t be there respresenting a nation enough?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I think social media (or media in general) tend to blow things out of proportion.

    Don’t we have any real issues to talk about?! Aren’t there more important narratives we can talk about?!

    Like

  5. I came to the same conclusion. Now that the pledge of allegiance is not done in schools, how many opportunities do they have to learn. I love the pledge and am glad we had it in school when I was younger.😍

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

