Mom, Is An 82 Okay?

Standard

I am super hard on my kids. I expect a lot but I no longer expect more than their personal best. This push for better, brighter, smarter, perfect is becoming an inner battle I must fight from the inside out. I cannot tell you the number of parents I know who absolutely freak out over anything less that an A. Newsflash everyone! Not every kid is capable of A’s. As a parent who is more involved with my child’s schoolwork than most, I can honestly attest that sometimes the amount of information taught in class is not enough tobe successful on tests. This expectation that you can give kids an overload on informationin a short time folllwed by an exam where you are expected to APPLY what you learn is setting these kids up for failure. Not everyone can make those connections that are obvious for a select few. All I can say is, yes Chase, an 82 is just fine. 

8 thoughts on “Mom, Is An 82 Okay?

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I totally agree with this.

    I was pushed very hard as a child to get good grades, it was never good enough and there was a lot of negative reinforcement. So guess what, I did not do well in school until I moved out of the house and away from all the negativity. A good example was when I was working full time, have a wife and two kids and decided to go back to school to get my MBA, I graduated with a 3.75 GPA (in two years flat). All my Mom said was I should have studied harder and I would have gotten a 4.0. ‘Nuff said.

    I keep that firmly in the back of my mind when it comes to my kids. I am active with their grades, set expectations but I think I give my kids room to be themselves and opportunities to be self motivated. Last report card my Son got a 4.0 and my Daughter a 3.75, so perhaps I am doing something right?

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

