F Trump. Really?

Standard

We have built our kids up so much and catered to their every need that they do not know when to sit down and know their place. I have a daughter who will be going away to college. As I watch these college kids protest, I have to admit I am pretty disgusted. It is our job as parents to teach our kids the difference between freedom of speech and expression and flat out disrespect. This is the result of an education system that teaches our kids to be ashamed about there country. I have struggled with this narrative with my own kids and tried to be a different voice than the one they were hearing at school. Our country has had this electoral process in place from the beginning of time and it has always been an unspoken rule to accept the result of the vote and show our new President elect respect. I am embarrassed by our young people tonight. Everyone has the right to vote but when the results are in the game is over. What upsets me more than anything is neither major candidate came without some serious flaws including corruption. How can these kids be so dishonest about one candidate and attack another? I am all about perspective and I invite others and myself to try and see things in many ways but this tonight is really getting under my skin. These kids are swearing and saying dirty words and acting the same way they protest against. This is hypocrisy at its best. Be bitter or be better but be accountable for the energy you bring to this country that is already deeply disturbed and divided enough. I’m done.

29 thoughts on “F Trump. Really?

  1. Those kids are not protesting against Trump swearing and using dirty words. Unless they are using swears and dirty words to demean and denigrate a group of people based on their race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, religion, disability etc, there is nothing hypocritical about what they are doing. I’d rather kids be taught to stand up for their beliefs and what they know is right than to sit down and know their place. Freedom of speech includes peaceful protest and there have been protests against every president. Yes, both candidates have flaws but Trump’s flaws are so much worse and more harmful to our country. You tend to get the same kind of respect you show to others and Trump has no respect for anyone who is not a rich white man.I am disgusted by anyone who voted for Trump and I’m ashamed of this country right now.

    Like

    • That’s your opinion and you are welcome to it but I cannot agree. Have you even seen the answers they give in interviews about why they are protesting. Do you even have kids? Just curious? These kids are an echo. Followers. I have a niece at college now and she is out marching because she is excited news cameras and helicopters are there taping. She could care less about the rest. This shows in the response these kids are given when the microphone is in front of them offering an opportunity to use their voice. Their response? F Trump and P grabs back. The American people have spoken and even Clinton and Obama stressed the respectful, peaceful transfer of power. I guess respect is overrated these days.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You bring up one trend or behavior I experienced in high school, Kim. Mob mentality. Classmates didn’t always care enough to know the details. They just joined in because some trending individual led the charge. Is this any different than these days when nearly everything is valued in regards to how many views, Likes or Tweets it gets? At least, where the televised media is concerned.

        This mindless craving of the spotlight is also fueled by online services/sites like YouTube. I’d include this site, but it’s not nearly as popular. 😛 Well, except for you, maybe. You, at least, get a regular traffic of responses. Everything is a reality TV show, and everyone from five to one hundred wants to be the funniest or smartest free-to-speak SOB out there.

        Like

      • Those are some great points. I am overly concerned because I am watching my teenagers engage in this because it has become so normal. I am trying so hard to teach my kids not to gang up on others and not to join every movement. These kids will jump on any train moving in a limelight direction. I have to do my part to instill what I can in my own children. They are not afraid to go against the crowd and I am proud of the way my daughter handles pressure from friends. I’m not sure I would have been as brace at that age. It took me turning 40 to find my voice.

        Like

      • If you don’t want your kids to protest in some obnoxious or rude way, suggest a sensible alternative that doesn’t sound like trading chocolate for carrots.

        You might also confront them with CALMLY SPOKEN questions about what their motivation to join the mob is. Say, “What is your opinion of what these other kids are shouting?” I doubt you’ll get more than “Because what this guy is doing is so wrong, mom! Billy and Debra are speaking up for all of us! We’ve been whitewashed!” But, I would not expect much from my teenage classmates.

        You have a tendency to get a bit outspoken about your views and stick by them, which is good for you. That way you, hopefully, avoid being a “tool.” But, it rubs the free-spirited kids just sorting themselves out the wrong way. [I should know from my own experience without being a parent, just being a classmate with opinions.]

        Sometimes “instill” sounds or feels like Nazi force. It’s not much different than how my class had religion, patriotism and strict rules for dealing with strangers jammed down our throats.

        It took me 15 years to find my voice. And, it’s been a few decades of hating that I ever found it, since. Maybe one out of a hundred appreciate my thoughts. The rest would rather throw rocks or not listen.

        Like

      • I gave birth to one of the most free spirited people I know but I have taught her that I am open to listen to views different than my own. Not to argue who is right or wrong. It to genuinely understand how someone else thinks or feels. I think that is why I am attracted to blogging. You must listen first. Then respond 🙂

        Like

  2. No, I don’t have kids but I’m not sure what that has to do with anything unless you’re trying to imply that because I don’t have kids my opinion on this matter is not valid. There are plenty of people with kids who feel the same way I do. I can’t speak for your niece but I can assure you that most of the people protesting are not just followers who are looking for media attention. They are genuinely angry and devastated by Trump being elected president. The people who voted for Trump do not speak for all of America and Hillary actually won the popular vote. Now the people who oppose Trump are speaking through their protests. I do not advocate violence and as long as these protests do not get violent, I consider them peaceful. As for respect, again, you tend to get the respect you give. I agree that respect is important and that is why I am outraged that we have a president elect who has no respect for a large segment of the population.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Again, that is your opinion and doesn’t mean what you believe is actually true. The protests are not peaceful. I see cars and garbage cans being set on fire, windows being broken. The people I see spewing hate are not and have not been Trump supporters unless they were paid to pose as Trump supporters paid by the Hillary campaign. This belief that Trump is a hater as well as his supporters is a narrative that does not serve our country well. You can use your freedom of speech to spread discord. That is your choice. Like it or not, Trump will be our next President and sooner or later people will have to get over it. It’s just getting really sickening watching people who accuse Trump and his supporters of hate but in their next breath turn around and finger point, judge, demean and call people names. I believe in leading by example and not treating people the way you think they deserve but rather with the same respect we all deserve. If people don’t know better you be better and set the tone. You can be the change or be the norm. We can agree to disagree and move along. There is no right or wrong just a completely different perspective and that is what separates us from one another. It’s unfortunate the American people can’t settle on a single common goal. Ego is bigger than desire to come together. That gets us where we are today. Stuck in the middle of nowhere.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Well, then you’ve given me some information that wasn’t in your original post and that makes me see the situation differently. I do not think it is appropriate to set cars on fire or break windows, although I can certainly understand why this election would fill people with enough rage and frustration to do so. Some people are going to have a very hard time “getting over” Trump’s presidency because of the consequences it will have on heir lives. Yes, ideally we should all lead by example, treat people with the respect they deserve, set the tone etc, but we don’t all have the kind of power Trump has. It’s sickening to watch the people who don’t have the power being oppressed, discriminated against and treated horribly by the people who do. It would also be nice if America could settle on a single common goal but Trump’s goals are very different from the goals many Americans see as worthy of striving for.

        Like

      • It’s also possible all the windbag says won’t happen. After all, this isn’t the first thing he has built that was lacking funds or something underneath. Someone said he said the things he did to get people riled up. I thought he was working for Hillary. Now, it would seem to be a different matter. Now, he’s entering the driver seat. However, he’s got a nice guy like Pence on his side. And, I suspect, an army of staff–spare no expense–will assist with cleaning up any mess he makes, even if dinner isn’t ready when he gets home.

        But, I can see myself swinging a bat, smashing things and setting fires. It doesn’t mean I will. But, I can see how others might lack self-control. The question they have to ask–the question we all have to ask–is what that violence will get us. What is the intention? And, don’t we expect police or soldiers to bring us down? If you start that sort of fire, I would think we would expect to die for it, too. After all, soldiers are “fighting for our freedoms.” That includes fighting their own people to maintain “order.” [Whoever pays for that order.]

        Like

      • I think we are more ready to fight and less willing to find middle ground. The problem is there is no compromise anymore. People want what they want and if they don’t get it they throw a tantrum. The first thing I ever taught my own kids is that life is NOT fair. I grew up believing it was or should be and that false notion caused me a great deal of strife and pain.

        Like

      • I’ve had to compromise and go without longer than some, I think. It irks me to think I must continue to deny myself some things people take for granted. Yet, I still go without and tolerate being denied if just to survive.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. the-reluctant-parent

    Hi Kim. I couldn’t agree with you more and though I personally didn’t vote for either candidate, choosing to vote third party, these kids burning and looting as a way to protest is infantile and just make them look like asses as well as perhaps get them thrown in jail, where they should be if they’re going to behave like animals.

    If these people are that angry because of the way the election turned out, they can start by getting involved at the local level and being a bigger part of their political community.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. When did schools start teaching kids to be ashamed of the USA? I must have missed that era in my crypt. I grew up with school so patriotic, anti-drug and religiously preaching that I knew no different. There were no other world views or religions. Yet, the Catholic way was enough to turn most of my classmates off the religion, or, at least, showing it proper respect.

    I wouldn’t blame the schools; I’d blame the political groups that put on the media circus, phone line assaults, neighborhood sales pitches, etc. On the onset, it sounds like a good way to get the word out. But, like with my school education, it veiled ugliness with propaganda and pressured participation. I’d say the protestors are no more rude or obnoxious than a guy telling certain people to build a wall to exclude them from the country and then pay the bill. And, THAT guy gets the majority to say, “Uh, okay, boss. Sorry we made fun.” Unreal.

    Like

    • Yes but you are forgetting one important thing. People that come into our country are breaking the law. We cannot live in a lawless land and yes education has tweaked history in a painful way and the assignment my son brought home on Clinton and Trump infuriated me. I do not agree with schools telling kids how to think.

      Like

      • Sooo, you voted for Trump, I would guess.

        I dunno why you bring up a lawless land when this crap has been going on long before the Trumpasaurs and Kardashianodons.

        Schools are there TO tell kids how to think. It’s called disciplining in the place of parents who are too busy with themselves/elsewhere. Schools were designed to give people who did not have jobs a place to go. And, if kids misbehaved, well, in the past, punishment was more severe.

        Which is better? A school that tells kids the USA is the greatest and that we should be proud soldiers to defend our freedoms? Or, one that says we should be free to piss on each other when we don’t agree and kick someone out of town if they bother you?

        Someone recently said schools should teach kids how to get along and gradually learn tasks they’ll need on the job versus teaching kids “to the test.” Meaning, stop teaching kids something they will only need to drill in their heads to pass a test, get a diploma and then move on to the next stage of education, hoping the next guy or gal improves upon what the last teachers taught. And, I agree with that. I was taught to pass tests, not much about what would help me survive or get on in the workforce. Yet, I was able to retain some knowledge about writing which, apparently, is either obsolete or just ignored by most authors. It seems all the rules I learned are open to variation.

        Like

      • I get schools are there to tell kids what to think but I do not agree with what they are delivering. I remember the day one of my kids came home and told me Christopher Columbus was a racist. They don’t get the “whole” story just misleading bits and pieces. Many parents don’t have these conversations with their kids so the only influence they have is school and media which let’s face it is not always true.

        Like

      • Well, you cannot change the schools much, can you? Maybe one school. Or, if you are so fortunate to be a motivating speaker, maybe you start a movement. Who knows.

        Keep in mind, what one is taught does not always reflect well in what the student relays. Just as one’s vision may be clearer or of a different color spectrum than another.

        Maybe there’s a reason Columbus was called racist.

        And, yes, many working parents do not have time to work with their kids as they could/should. I only had one working parent for a long time, and even that didn’t bring me very close to my mother; she didn’t instill or teach me much. More often, the topics us kids were destined to contend with were too much or taboo for her. Thus, we grew up misguided and afraid.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I applaud you. You are absolutely correct. What they are doing, saying and the way they are behaving is hypocrisy at its best. Both candidates are flawed and therefore neither choice was a good one. As voters, all we could do was vote for the candidate whose ideas were closest to our own – which unfortunately meant that either way, we also had to vote for someone with very backward ideas as well. It’s a lose lose situation, but what’s making it much worse are all the people who are out on the streets behaving like unruly children. THAT is not what America needs. Democrats had their turn. Now it’s the Republican’s chance. What’s most important and more needed than ever right now, is unity. Not vandalizing property or throwing a tantrum. Unity – as a united group of people we CAN make America great again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope so. I really hope we can pull together and find the unity we so desperately need. I was feeling so hopeful until I turned on the darn news. Today I decided to remain hopeful in spite of what I saw. We have so much potential but we have to root for a win.

      Like

      • Yes, same here. For the first time in years, I felt a sense of hope that the nation would turn around. Then, more division, more craziness. Protest is one thing, but beating people, burning flags and destroying property is never called for. This didn’t happen in 2008. The Republicans accepted the loss and moved on. So thankful for that and that’s the way it should be now. It’ll pass. It has too, unless these people *really* want to mess up the nation. If it gets worse, it’s their fault – not the government’s. I understand their frustration, but they’re the ones making the choice to behave this way. It’s a shame.

        Liked by 2 people

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

