Are You making or Breaking Someone Else’s Day?

Standard

I was reminded today how hard it is to keep myself in check. Often times, I have the best intentions. I look forward to the weekend or getting out to do something with family but sometimes the best intentions fall by the wayside. I was in a great mood yesterday. Sometimes I am able to step away from all the stress and just breathe again. That was my plan for the last two days. Unfortunately I absorb all that is around me and if I don’t find a way to reach that place of balance, I crumble. After hours of spending time around someone completely disengaged followed by another who dumps his responsibilities onto everybody else, I slowly deflate. The negative energy just consumes me until I become it myself. So my good mood has slowly come to a close. It’s easy to say that other people aren’t responsible for your happiness but I argue that the people around me are often responsible for my unhappiness. There are some people in our lives that we cannot just dismiss or remove. We can’t delete them like they are some random Facebook friend but at the same time we cannot allow them to destroy our happiness or inner peace. I am not looking for sympathy or having a pity party. I am writing this post as a reminder that who we are affects everyone around us. Our mood, our lack of concern, our negligence, our bad attitude, our words and especially our actions are equally if not more powerful than any positive we think we put off. Just ask yourself today, what is the energy I am bringing to this place? How am I affecting the people around me? It’s the only way to finally understand just how much we are all connected.

2 thoughts on “Are You making or Breaking Someone Else’s Day?

  1. I’m with you on this. When I was working for a High Street bank in the 70s, one particular member of staff was so miserable all the time, it was mentioned to management. There was no rhyme or reason to it, and I made it a deliberate point on a Monday to be cheerful in the hope to start the week off with a smile at least.
    One thing I was adamant about over my recent breast cancer diagnosis was to surround myself with positivity. In the beginning, we told a select few and the support was wonderful. It still is, and I have no time for negativity just now, which is going to make telling a certain family member difficult.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

