Tell Me One Good Thing About Your Year

Standard

I cannot believe the doom and gloom I am seeing as people turn their middle finger up to 2016. I have had some great years, some painful ones and so many more in between. The truth is, life for the most part is what we make of it. We can zoom in on all the bad or we can choose to focus on the things that were good. I have learned a few things over the last 45 years. Sometimes we are convinced that we’ve gone through a bad time or a horrible year and then we are shown what a bad year really is. There are so many blessings and wonderful opportunities all around us but sometimes our tunnel vision blocks our ability to notice. As 2016 ticks away, I will persistently focus on all the wonderful things I am truly grateful for. That is how I will exit this year and enter the new one. With a heart full of hope and gratitude, I will make this transition with all the positive energy I can. I have my health, my family and a home to keep me warm. I have people who love me. I was blessed enough to live another year. We are owed nothing and every single day is a gift. Sometimes when everything is not exactly the way we want it to be we allow ourselves to become a victim. Poor me. Not this girl. I have started to recite all the reasons why this has been a fantastic year. My focus is on the good. My focus is on hope. My focus is love. Happy New Year everyone! 

14 thoughts on “Tell Me One Good Thing About Your Year

  1. Love, love, love this post! I’ve been complaining non-stop about this year and finally told myself it’s really just the last couple months that have been rough but even with the rough times there’s been so many good times.
    This morning I discovered I went on 10 hikes this year and saw 3 waterfalls, not a ton but a major accomplishment for me. Going through some pictures I was reminded 2016 might not be the terrible monster I’ve been making it out to be…Hope you have a very Happy New Year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Our mind can sure play tricks on us. We will believe whatever crazy bull we tell ourselves. I am working very hard to change my destructive, negative voice. It’s a full time job focusing on the good. I hope 2017 holds some amazing adventures for you. Happy New Year.

      Like

  2. drnjbmd

    As I have become a grown up person, I am convinced that no year is better or worse than any other year. Every year I learn new things, meet new people, say farewell to those who go and keep moving forward. A friend reminded me a while back that Einstein said, “Life is like riding a bicycle. You have to keep moving to keep your balance”. This is so with me as I am grateful for every minute that comes to me. Hope you have a great New Year of discovery and wonder at this lovely gift that we call life.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

