You Can’t Change What You Don’t Acknowledge

Standard

How many times do you tear down the lies and just get real with yourself? Sometimes it’s easier to avoid the truth because denying it feels better than facing the work that lies ahead necessary to set yourself straight again. What I don’t know can’t hurt me. Sound familiar? 

For quite a while now, I have been extremely uncomfortable in my clothes. My ego generated lie after lie as I avoided the scale. The truth would have been revealed in one three digit number. I pushed that scale with my foot underneath my vanity purposely avoiding a truth I was unwilling to see.

Today I got real. I felt sick as I bent down and slid that scale out. I begged and bargained with God but He must have been busy. Now I know for sure what I had known all along. It’s not loose skin or aging. I have gained weight. You can’t change what you don’t acknowledge but today I gave myself the gift of hope. I’ve done this before and I know what works. Now that I am honest with myself, the real work can now begin. 

What have you been avoiding? What truth have you been hiding from? 

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

