You Can Do It Too!

Standard

You can change your life.

 I know because I did it.

 A year ago, I was in a very dark place. Depression had a death grip on me and I was having frequent anxiety attacks. I was so unsettled in my own skin but the hopelessness I felt was one I thought I would never escape. I was helpless and I reached out but there was no life raft waiting for me as I slipped deeper and deeper into despair. I tried depression medicine and meditation but it only got worse.

A year later I am feeling back to my normal self. I had to change my self talk which eventually led to a change in perspective about my current situation. If I couldn’t change the part I was stuck in then I had no other choice than to change myself and use my perception to gain my power back. My mantra was “the sky is not failing”. You are okay. It took months to convince myself that I would survive my situation. That I could live a happy life right alongside the mess I was in. I decided to lessen my reaction to things that once sent me straight to panic. Ah yes, the sky is not falling and this is only temporary. Patience with myself and gentle reminders turned into a new sense of peace and confidence. I removed myself from negativity and the past few months I have started walking every day. I am up to 35 miles a week and there are no words to express what this has done for me mentally. Most days I feel happy. Did you hear that? Me, happy! And rarely do I feel anxiety for more than a few hours and it doesn’t happen often at all.  

Was It easy? Nope. I had to give up my bullshit stories that kept my anxiety alive and thriving. I had to admit that my thinking was most of the problem and the only fix out there was my decision to fix myself. I share this story because I know the silent suffering and wanting someone to take just a little bit of my despair away so I could get through the day. I also share this to tell you that you can overcome this too. It takes patience and a great deal of self love. I hope my success story becomes your own and please know you are not alone. I am out here cheering for you and I know you can do it too. You’ve got this! I promise.

4 thoughts on “You Can Do It Too!

  1. Well done. A hard struggle, but well worth it.
    I’ve been in the depths of despair, unable to cope and feeling worthless. I was lucky. I had an excellent GP and a supportive boss. Medication was necessary in the beginning, but like you, I changed my life. The situation wasn’t working for me, so I left. That was not easy either. 27 years on I like the person I am, my husband loves the person he met, and I am more comfortable with myself, my surroundings and my expectations in life are realistic. I look back and can see how far I’ve come. Dark days may hover, but they don’t take over.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kimberley, Just before President Obama left office, he said he heard during the 2017 election how bad things were. He said he told himself, “You think it was the end of the world. And that can’t be because I’m still here.” Well you’re still here!!! Cool it, Kiddo!!! Phil

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....

