Do You Believe in Karma?

Standard

More often than not, when I hear someone refer to Karma it is a wishful thinking that another person will get what we feel they deserve. I’ve thought about this for quite some time and the whole theory behind it really bugs me. Who the heck are we to feel that anyone deserves anything in the first place? Do we have the power or even the right to judge another to the point that we hope we eventually see harm come their way? Doesn’t the mere thought of it at all bring the very same Karma our way as well?

This may be overly optimistic but I would like to believe I have the same chance as anyone else that my beliefs about Karma are true. What if we brought about our own Karma by the way we think? What if we could see the good in everyone and everything and see behind the one thing we all have in common…our flaws. What if it was our intention that everyone would be happy and be kind and be good. What if our Karma is actually what we think we deserve? How many people do you know that sell themselves short? How many people do you know think they are inferior and will never have the life of those around of them? What if our Karma is the culmination of our own thoughts directly causing our own reality?

I read something somewhere a while ago. It suggested we should ask ourselves one very important question. How do you see the world? What if the word you answer with becomes how the world reacts to you? We cannot change the people around us. We cannot change every circumstance or event. We can change our perception and how we react. If one mean person alters our entire view of people and the world, what are we going to get in return? What if we could say, yes, people are jerks, but there is so much kindness out there if we dare to see behind the blind spots that have wounded our egos. People make bad choices. They act in ways that are harmful and hurtful. We are so much more than our actions and words. Don’t we all deserve to live a long, happy life? Don’t we all deserve to sit down at the end of the day and feel content and loved and worthy of everything that is good in life? Maybe our intent should be that everyone that harms us learns and grows, becomes better and actively does better. We are a work in progress. Just because we grow in years does not necessarily mean we grow in morals and character. Let that be your intention and watch the world around you change. What you resist persists, at least that’s what the experts say so I would like to take a new path. I am hopeful that we all have the potential to change and contribute to society in a positive way. Sometimes our reaction to a person who leaves a negative mark can change that person in a profound way. Have you ever thought about the process in reverse? You be better and other people will be better too. Don’t stoop to a level you find shameful regardless of how much your emotions are tugging at you.

Back to Karma. Ask yourself one basic question. Do you associate Karma with bringing about bad or bringing about good? You might be surprised at your answer.

20140528-172433.jpg

9 thoughts on “Do You Believe in Karma?

  1. I truly believe that Karma, good or bad, is based on the actions of the individual. I do something bad, I should not be surprised when something bad happens to me. I do something good, I should not be surprised when something good happens to me.

    Generally, if you treat people well, you in turn will be treated well. If you treat people poorly, well, you get the same in return. You could say it is like the law of physics. You can’t avoid it.

    Wishing good or bad Karma on someone else does no good. It is only about you and your actions not someone else. I believe in Karma, so therefore I try to keep a positive attitude and treat everyone with respect. So far, it has worked for me. 🙂

    Like

    • I tend to agree. I always try to treat people the way I want to be treated but never expect in return. I can only hope what you put out there comes back so I try and make it positive. Thanks so much for your comment 😉

      Like

  2. Karma certainly goes both ways. If you do good, good will come back to you. If you do bad, then you will receive just the same in return. The world and those around us, are as terrible or as beautiful as we make them to be. If we look for good, we will see good. If we look for evil, we will see evil. It’s all about perspective.

    Like

  3. Of course Karma happens to us, and yes, we bring it on ourselves. What we think today we become tomorrow. So, if we are thinking rough thoughts, then our live will become rough. And, when someone treats us poorly, and we choose to move on and let them wait for their own Karma, then we get the good – and because they treated us poorly, they are bringing it on themselves.

    There is so much good in the world, and it’s empowering to realize that we can have more and then even more. The more good we do, the more good thoughts we have, the more the Universe sends our way. And there is enough to go around!

    And, when someone treats me like crap, then I know they have attracted crap to themselves, so I can let it go and wait for Karma to get them in the goose. 🙂 I’ll be busy letting Karma send me the good!

    Like

  4. Linda

    I often find when people refer to Karma they are bitter, angry or hurt and are hoping that someone who wronged them gets what’s coming to them! If that’s what “karma” is maybe what happened to them is their “Karma” !

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....